LibGuides: Author's Toolkit: A Guide to Manuscript Preparation: Finding Resources

Conduct a Thorough Literature Search

These bibliographic databases are a good starting point for a literature search.

Embase
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering the international biomedical literature. Einstein's access covers 1972-present.
PubMed
More than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
SciFinder-n
- This link opens in a new window
An index to chemical literature. Citations are from the CAplus database as well as MEDLINE. SciFinder also includes the CAS Registry.
1. Register for a SciFinder account at http://bit.ly/Einstein_SciFinder.
  YOU MUST REGISTER WITH YOUR EINSTEIN EMAIL ADDRESS.
  This is very important. Access to the web version is based on email domains.
2. SciFinder will send you confirmation by email. Click on the link in the message to activate your registration.
3. Access SciFinder at http://elibrary.einsteinmed.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org.
4. Search & enjoy.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in scholarly journals covering more than 100 disciplines.

Request an article via Interlibrary Loan
Use ILLiad to request journal articles that are not in the D. Samuel Gottesman Library's collection. The10-digit barcode or 5-digit number on your Einstein ID is required to submit a request.

To complement traditional databases, there are a few search engines worth exploring.

Semantic Scholar
Created by the Allen Institute for AI in 2015, applies artificial intelligence to extract the meaning from the scientific literature more efficiently than a traditional search engine. Includes over 180 million papers.
Sign in with your Institutional ID to access Einstein full text via LibKey.

Mednar
Mednar is a free, medically-focused deep web search engine produced by Deep Web Technologies, Inc.
Google Scholar Advanced Search
Add precision to Google Scholar searches. Search by exact phrse, title only, author, journal title, or specific date ranges..

Books

The Library has a large collection of print and electronic books.

ALBERT
The Library's online catalog includes print and e-books.

Request a book via Interlibrary Loan
Use this form to request a book or dissertation not owned by the D. Samuel Gottesman Library. Your 10-digit Library barcode is required to submit this form.
Suggest a purchase
If you think a particular book should be in the Library's collection, let us know.

Conference Papers

Several bibliographic databases include links to conference papers.

Embase
- This link opens in a new window
To limit your search, select Conference Abstract and/or Conference Paper from the list of Filters.
SciFinder-n
- This link opens in a new window
To limit your search, select Conference under Document Type(s).
1. Register for a SciFinder account at http://bit.ly/Einstein_SciFinder.
  YOU MUST REGISTER WITH YOUR EINSTEIN EMAIL ADDRESS.
  This is very important. Access to the web version is based on email domains.
2. SciFinder will send you confirmation by email. Click on the link in the message to activate your registration.
3. Access SciFinder at http://elibrary.einsteinmed.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org.
4. Search & enjoy.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
After running your search, select Document Types from the Refine Results column. Check off Meeting Abstract and/or Proceedings Paper.

Preprints

bioRxiv
bioRxiv is an open-access preprint repository for the biological sciences hosted by the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. It distributes complete, but unpublished manuscripts in the biological sciences without charge to the reader.
ChemRxiv
ChemRxiv is an open access preprint archive for chemistry. It is operated by the American Chemical Society, Royal Society of Chemistry and German Chemical Society.
medRxiv
Medrxiv is an open-access preprint repository for the health sciences hosted by the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. It distributes complete, but unpublished manuscripts in the areas of medicine, clinical research, and related health sciences without charge to the reader.
OSFPreprints (Open Science Framework)
An open-access preprint service.
SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
SSRN´s eLibrary provides 940,313 research papers from 491,239 researchers in more than 50 disciplines.

Einstein Preprint Channel in bioRxiv
A first look at papers by Albert Einstein College of Medicine researchers postedin BioRxiv and MedRxiv.

Theses & Dissertations

Several databases include theses in addition to journal articles.

Networked Digital Library for Theses and Dissertations Union Catalog
This catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations from member institutions. Some full text is available.
Request a dissertation via Interlibrary Loan
Use this form to request a book or dissertation not owned by the D. Samuel Gottesman Library. This service is available to registered Library patrons only. Your 10-digit Library barcode is required to submit this form.

Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. This database includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day. Full text is available for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
SciFinder-n
- This link opens in a new window
To limit your search, select Dissertation under Document Type(s).
1. Register for a SciFinder account at http://bit.ly/Einstein_SciFinder.
  YOU MUST REGISTER WITH YOUR EINSTEIN EMAIL ADDRESS.
  This is very important. Access to the web version is based on email domains.
2. SciFinder will send you confirmation by email. Click on the link in the message to activate your registration.
3. Access SciFinder at http://elibrary.einsteinmed.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org.
4. Search & enjoy.

Data Sets

Resources that contain data you can use in your papers.

BioCyc: Genome Database Collection
- This link opens in a new window
BioCyc is a collection of 19494 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) for model eukaryotes and for thousands of microbes, plus software tools for exploring them. BioCyc is an encyclopedic reference that contains curated data from 130,000 publications.

Gene
Contains key connections in the nexus of map, sequence, expression, structure, function, citation, and homology data. Unique identifiers are assigned to genes with defining sequences, genes with known map positions, and genes inferred from phenotypic information.

more... less...

Produced by NCBI.
Nucleotide
A collection of sequences from several resources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB.

more... less...

Produced by NCBI

OMIM: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
A compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes.

OMIM is authored and edited at the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, under the direction of Dr. Ada Hamosh. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes.

Protein
A collection of sequences from several sources, including translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank, RefSeq and TPA, as well as records from SwissProt, PIR, PRF and PDB.

more... less...

Produced by NCBI.

PubChem
Information on the biological activities of small molecules. Includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, and PCBioAssay. Produced by NCBI.

Substance information, compound structures and the biological activities of small molecules

WormAtlas
more... less...

Database of behavioral and structural anatomy of c elegans
Find more
Browse or search databases and websites compiled by the Reference Department.

Subject Experts

Einstein Research Profiles
Provides information to develop new research collaborations and locate in-house biomedical expertise. Einstein Research Profiles gives investigators easy access to PubMed publications, information about NIH grants, and each investigator’s network of collaborators.
Faculty Opinions
- This link opens in a new window
Faculty Opinions (formerly F1000 Prime) identifies and recommends important articles in biology and medical research publications. Articles are selected by a peer-nominated global 'Faculty' of the world's leading scientists and clinicians who then rate them and explain their importance. From the numerical ratings awarded, we have created a unique system for quantifying the importance of individual articles.

Tools for finding and managing Full Text

BrowZine
by Nancy Glassman Last Updated May 17, 2022 152 views this year

LibKey Nomad

EndNote Click (formerly Kopernio)
by Nancy Glassman Last Updated Jan 23, 2022 66 views this year

Read by QxMD
by Winifred King Last Updated Aug 13, 2019 22 views this year