It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Disaster Planning and Preparedness: Home
Tools and resources to help plan for improved care during a natural or man made disaster.
Includes: Federal Government Resources, Emergency Health Management, Mental Health Management, Portals to Health Information, Hazardous Materials, Environmental Health Maps, Environmental Cleanup and Recovery, Drinking Water, Rodents, Snakes, Insects and Pesticides, Mold, Resources from the National Library of Medicine, Información en Español, Animals in Disasters.
Includes Clinical Guidance for Carbon Monoxide Poisoning After a Disaster, Immunizations, Mold, Medical Records, Medical Management and Patient Advisement, Infection Control, Surveillance, Drug and Medical Device Safety, Reopening Healthcare Facilities, Pediatric Environmental Health Specialty Units, Dialysis Care, Handling Human Remains, Questions About Clinical Trials Affected by Disasters, and Evacuee Education.
Wolters Kluwer continues to update its Covid-19 resources to support rapid response healthcare teams and researchers working to address the global coronavirus crisis. Bookmark this site to access the latest updates, open articles, and an article feed.
CHEMM is designed to enable first responders, first receivers, other healthcare providers, and planners to plan for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of mass-casualty incidents involving chemicals; and provide a comprehensive, user-friendly, web-based resource that is also downloadable in advance, so that it would be available during an event if the internet is not accessible
DIMRC was created to help with national emergency preparedness, response and recovery efforts. As part of National Library of Medicine's (NLM) Specialized Information Services (SIS) division, DIMRC collects, organizes and disseminates health information resources and informatics research related to disasters of natural, accidental or deliberate origin.
The New York City Office of Emergency Management (OEM) plans and prepares for emergencies, educates the public about preparedness, coordinates emergency response and recovery, and collects and disseminates emergency information.
Includes links to emergency preparedness fact sheets, tools and resources specifically written for health care professionals. Topics covered include: biological, chemical and radiological emergencies, hospital/EMS preparedness, maternal and child health providers, and regulations and updates.
New York State DHSES covers counter terrorism, emergency management, fire prevention and control, cyber security, and interoperable and emergency communications. It includes planning tools and training opportunities.
Radiation Emergency Medical Management, a downloadable application providing health care providers with guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of radiation injuries during radiation and nuclear emergencies.
WISER (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders) assists first responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information and containment and suppression advice.
Can be downloaded to iPhone/iPod Touch, Android, BlackBerry, Windows Mobile, Palm for use when Internet access is unavailable. Web versions are also available.
Following disasters or emergencies, the PFA Mobile app can assist responders who provide Psychological First Aid (PFA) to adults, families, and children. Materials in PFA Mobile are adapted from the Psychological First Aid Field Operations Guide (2nd Ed).
PFA Mobile was created by the VA's National Center for PTSD in partnership with The National Child Traumatic Stress Network, the DoD's National Center for Telehealth & Technology (T2), and the VA's Patient Care Services.
Written from a global perspective on risk, hazards and disasters, Introduction to International Disaster Management provides practitioners, educators and students with a comprehensive overview of the players, processes and special issues involved in the management of large-scale natural and technological disasters.
This report focuses on articulating current concepts and guidance that can assist state and local public health officials, healthcare facilities and professionals in the development of systematic and comprehensive policies and protocols for crisis standards of care in disasters where resources are scarce, as well as provide guidance to clinicians, health care institutions and state and local public health officials for how those crisis standards of care should be implemented in a disaster situation.
Chapters include: Essential concepts and foundations -- Promoting disaster recovery in ethnic-minority individuals and communities -- Meeting the physical, psychological, and social needs of African Americans following a disaster -- Essential information for disaster management and trauma specialists working with American Indians -- Arab Americans : understanding their challenges, needs, and struggles -- Asian Indians : cultural considerations for disaster workers -- Caribbean blacks : (Haitians, Jamaicans, Virgin Islanders, Eastern Caribbean) responses to disasters in cultural context -- Chinese Americans : guidelines for disaster mental health workers -- The Kanaka Maoli : native Hawaiians and their testimony of trauma and resilience -- Mexicans, Mexican Americans, Caribbean, and other Latin Americans -- Working with Vietnamese Americans in disasters -- Culture, trauma, and the treatment of post-traumatic syndromes : a global perspective -- A brief list of disaster-related vocabulary terms -- Summary and overview of disasters in developing countries -- Disaster rescue and response workers.
Chapters include: Basic perspectives; Pediatric considerations; Infectious diseases; Pharmaceuticals; Critical incident stress; Urban search and rescue; Complex humanitarian emergencies; Disaster response planning and coordination; Principles of hospital disaster planning; Emergency medical services; Local government emergency disaster planning; The United States national response plan; Communication and information technology tools for disaster response and medical assistance; Managing disasters in austere environments; Earthquakes; Tornadoes; Hurricanes; Floods; Firestorms and wildfires; Avalanches; Heat-related disasters; Volcanic eruptions; Tsunamis; Industrial, technological, and transportation disasters. Medical management of radiation incidents; Hazardous materials emergencies; Mass gathering medical care; Maritime disasters; Air crash disasters; Fires and mass burn care; Conflict-related disasters. Conventional terrorist bombings; Nuclear detonations: evaluation and response; Intentional chemical disasters; Biological weapons agents; Tactical emergency Services; Education, training and research; Education and training in disaster medicine; Research in disaster medicine.
Disaster recovery guide that provides simple information on how individuals, families and businesses can recover from a disaster such as a wildfire, hurricane, severe weather and more. Can be downloaded to mobile devices and eBook readers.