From the Library’s mobile page http://m.library.einstein.yu.edu, click on Reserve a Group Study Room to reserve your room. You will be prompted for your remote access login and password. For more tips, see the Library's Who Knew? Tips from the Reference Department Guide.
For additional help, email the Reference Department or call 718.430.3104.
The Library has published a new research guide, Evaluating Health Information on the Web which can be viewed at http://libguides.einstein.yu.edu/websiteevaluation. This guide discusses evaluation criteria to be used in evaluating health information on websites and social media sites.
Do you have folders upon folder of PDFs on your computer? Can you find the right article when you need it? EndNote is a powerful tool for managing PDF files.
Learn how to:
· Import PDF files (and folders of PDFs) into your EndNote Library
· Automatically rename PDFs
· Set up automatic importing
· Annotate PDFs
Register for the class and learn how EndNote can help you manage your PDF files.
SPSS Statistics is now available on all computers in the Library as well as the Beren Study Center. SPSS Statistics is a statistical package produced by IBM and is among the most widely used programs for statistical analysis. Statistical analysis, data management, case selection, file reshaping, creating derived data, and data documentation are among many features of the base software, which includes descriptive statistics; bivariate statistics; prediction for numerical outcomes: prediction for identifying groups; and numerous other features.
For further information about this package please visit http://www.spss.com/
If you are using a PC in the library, go to the Start menu, and then click on All Programs. You should be able to find IBM-SPSS Statistics listed in the programs list. If you are using a Mac, SPSS Statistics will be located on the Dock.
For support and help, please contact Help Desk firstname.lastname@example.org and at 212.960.5294.
Due to new licensing restrictions, access to UpToDate will be changing.
Effective January 1, 2014 the Library’s subscription to UpToDate will be available only to Einstein students and Einstein faculty at the medical school.
New UpToDate authentication procedures for Einstein students and Einstein faculty at the medical school will be phased in during December.
· Beginning December 9, 2013 users will have to register for an UpToDate account
· Beginning December 16, 2013 all users whether on- or off-campus will have to authenticate with their remote access UserID and password in order to access UpToDate
As part of National Medical Library Month, representatives from UpToDate and Unbound Medicine will be on hand to help install clinical resources on your mobile device.
· Tuesday, October 15
UpToDate - 10:00am – 3:00pm, Forchheimer Lobby
· Wednesday, October 23
Unbound Medicine - 11:30am - 2:00pm, Forchheimer Lobby
Get the details on our NMLM website.
SciENcv is a new feature in My NCBI that helps users create an online professional profile that can be made public to share with others. Users can document their education, employment, research activities, publications, honors, research grants, and other professional contributions.
eRA Commons account holders who have linked their eRA account to My NCBI will find their SciENcv profile automatically populated with the information stored in their eRA Commons profile. You do not have to have an eRA Commons account to create a SciENcv profile.
To help reach those at risk, the National Library of Medicine (NLM) has introduced a free Spanish-language online resource, infoSIDA, for HIV/AIDS, with information on treatment, prevention and research findings. infoSIDA includes guidelines, and information on clinical trials and drugs, education materials and mobile resources.
The Library has a new photocopier, which makes both color and black and white copies. The photocopier is located in the Library’s Copy Center adjacent to the Stacks elevator. Color photocopies are 20 cents per page. For more information, see our Printing, Scanning, and Photocopying guide.
The National Institutes on Aging (NIA) has published a database of more than 100 published instruments for detecting Alzheimer’s disease and other types of cognitive impairment. Many instruments are suitable for outpatient practices and community studies. Each instrument was developed as a cognitive assessment for age-related dementia and has had at least three published studies since its debut and at least one publication in the last 10 years. Users can search the database by specific criteria, such as time to administer the instrument, the administrator’s level of expertise, cost, and target diagnosis. They can also find instruments that have been evaluated in specific populations and translated into languages other than English. Each instrument is summarized, with references cited and linked for easy access.
The NLM has published a select set of subject guides that can serve as research starting points for health professionals, researchers and students. Though not intended as a comprehensive resource, each guide lists a variety of resources, many of which are freely accessible.
Guides include health statistics and conference proceedings. Two additional guides will be available in late fall covering drug information and genetics/genomics.
The topics for these guides are drawn from the most frequently asked questions the NLM Reference and Web Services staff encounter in e-mails and onsite. The staff plans to update the guides, reviewing them as needed to maintain their links and content.
You can find the Library resources you use most — study room reservations, printing and photocopying information, mobile apps and more — with one click. Guides are available for:
Bookmark your guide! If there's something we missed, let us know. Email email@example.com.
*New* Up To Date – Mobile App
UpToDate Anywhere, the mobile app, is now available for iOS devices (iPhones, iPads, etc.), Androids, and Windows8 tablets.
Follow these steps to get the app:
1. From a desktop or laptop computer, click on the UpToDate link on the Library’s home page:http://library.einstein.yu.edu.
2. Click on the red Login/Register button on the top right-hand corner of UpToDate’s main search page.
3. Fill out the New User registration form. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email from UpToDate.
4. Download the UpToDate app on your mobile device from the App Store, Google Play, or Windows Store.
5. Log on to UpToDate with the user name you just created.
Important: In order to maintain mobile remote access to UpToDate, you must log on to UpToDate from an Einstein IP address every 30 days. The easiest way to do this is to click on the UpToDate link on the Library’s home page: http://library.einstein.yu.edu.
For more information contact the D. Samuel Gottesman Library Reference Department at 718.430.3104, firstname.lastname@example.org .
A patch for EndNote for Macs is available. EndNote X7 users should be prompted to upgrade to X7.0.1 the next time they open the program.
EndNote X7.0.1 for Macs
· contains critical updates for Sync and Cite While You Write
· is compatible with Mavericks (Mac OS X 10.9)
It appears the EndNote versions X5 and earlier are not compatible with Mavericks. As of now, EndNote is not planning to release updates to older versions. Anyone still using EndNote X5 or earlier should upgrade to EndNote X7. To find out which version of EndNote you have, select “About EndNote” from the EndNote X7 menu.
EndNote X7.0.2 for Windows, released in October, fixes some issues with Sync. To find out which version of EndNote you have, select “About EndNote” from the Help menu in your EndNote program.
The College’s OCS print management system was upgraded during the Thanksgiving weekend. As part of this upgrade, Windows users must download and install the updated version of the OCS FTP wireless printing module.
Follow the Wireless Printing Instructions for Setting up Wireless Printing Using the YUWireless Network
If you have questions or problems, please contact ITS at email@example.com or 718.430.2332.
PubMed recently introduced a new relevancy sort feature, available from the “Display Settings” drop-list. Sort order is calculated based on an algorithm in which the frequency of search terms in citations and fields in which they appear are weighted, as well as the citation’s recency.
Read more about it here http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/techbull/so13/so13_pm_relevance.html
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders – 5th ed is now available online
The new edition of the comprehensive resource used to diagnose and classify mental disorders. It is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.
The disorders included in DSM-5 were reordered into a revised organizational structure meant to stimulate new clinical perspectives. This new structure corresponds with the organizational arrangement of disorders planned for ICD-11 scheduled for release in 2015.
An exhibit to be unveiled in the Library lobby on Tuesday, November 12, at 4 pm will celebrate the enduring legacy of Saul R. Korey, MD, a founding faculty member of the College of Medicine and namesake of the department of neurology. Dr. Korey died 50 years ago, on September 27, 1963, just eight years after helping to establish the medical school. Please stop by to learn more about his contributions to Einstein then and now. Read about the history of the Saul R. Korey Department of Neurology.
On October 9, Library staff hosted the Annual Meeting of the New York/New Jersey Chapter of the Medical Library Association in the Michael F. Price Center for Genetic and Translational Medicine and Harold and Muriel Block Research Pavilion. Aurelia Minuti, head of the Reference Department, was the chair of the planning committee for the meeting. The more than 70 attendees were librarians from institutions in New York and New Jersey. Speakers included the president of the Medical Library Association; a representative from the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Middle Atlantic Region; the director of the NYU Health Sciences Library, New York University School of Medicine; the director of the Medical Library at Coney Island Hospital; and the director of the Medical Library at South Nassau Communities Hospital. After completing a successful year as chapter chair, Racheline Habousha, library director, passed on the gavel to the new chair.
PubMed Central (PMC), the National Library of Medicine’s free digital database of full-text literature in biomedical and life sciences, has just released an updated version of PubReader. Designed particularly for enhancing readability on tablet and other small screen devices, it’s a reader-friendly way to look at articles in the PMC archive. The new version (1.2) includes a "search this page" feature that allows you to find specific terms within the article.