Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Good To Know: 2014

A compilation of library events and activities and resources

Explore Your County's Health

On March 26, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute released the 2014 County Health Rankings at http://www.countyhealthrankings.org/. County Health Rankings ranks more than 3,000 counties nationwide against others in their states. See what’s new; explore your county’s health, where you excel and where there is room for improvement.

Below you will see the Summary of Health Outcomes & Health Factors Rankings for Bronx, NY.

Counties receive two ranks:

   -Health Outcomes

   -Health Factors

Each of these ranks represents a weighted summary of a number of measures.

Health outcomes represent how healthy a county is while health factors represent what influences the health of the county.

Drug-Induced Liver Injury

LIVERTOX is a free database from National Institutes of Health (NIH) of drugs associated with liver injury.  A source of evidence-based information for health care professionals and for researchers studying liver injury associated with prescription and over-the-counter drugs, herbals, and dietary supplements.  LIVERTOX also includes a case registry that will enable scientific analysis and better characterization of the clinical patterns of liver injury.

Read the NIH news release here http://www.nih.gov/news/

Access High Quality Drug Information

The Drug Information Portal  from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides a search engine to help you find drug information from Web sites sponsored by the U.S. government. In addition, the site contains special features for the public, students and educators.

Some other free drug information resources from NLM

  • DailyMed - NLM drug information portal that includes FDA drug labels

  • Dietary Supplements Labels Database - label ingredient information from over 5,000 brands of supplements

  • LactMed - database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed; see brochure for more information

  • Pillbox - users can quickly identify unknown drugs by color, shape, size, imprint, and scoring

  • TOXNET - portal search of a collection of databases (LactMed, ChemIDplus, TOXLINE, DART, HSDB) on hazardous chemicals, toxic releases, and environmental health

Full Screen Browsing with Mercury

Have you ever noticed that when you're on a mobile device, websites look different than when you are accessing them from your home computer? Do you ever wish you could use the same version of the website on all of your devices? There is an app for that.

Mercury is a free web browser available for both Apple and Android devices, which allows you to choose which version of a website you use.

  • Click here to download the app from the iTunes Store.
  • Click here to download the app from the Google Play Store.

Other features include themes, downloading, printing, fullscreen browsing, file sharing, adblock, tabs, multi touch gestures, private browsing, passcode lock, save page, and Facebook/Twitter integration.

  • Click here for instructions on how to use Mercury on Android devices.
  • Click here for instructions on how  to use Mercury on Apple devices.

More information is available here http://libguides.einstein.yu.edu/mercury

Changes to Web of Science

Web of knowledge has become Web of Science and the database currently known as Web of Science has become the Web of Science Core Collection.  Web of Science Core Collection is comprised of three indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded.  Use these indexes to search for articles on a topic or search for articles that have cited a known author or work.  In this redesign, the same searches can be performed but some options have moved.  One upgrade is that it is now possible to refine your search by Open Access titles. 

Access is available from the Databases list on the Library’s home page.  You can find more details in the release notes or in the training video.

We are in the process of updating our webpages and research guides to reflect these changes.  For more information, contact the Reference Desk askref@einstein.yu.edu and at 718.430.3104.

Papers of Sir William Osler added to Profiles in Science

William Osler, the 19th century Canadian physician is sometimes referred to as "the father of modern medicine" for his pivotal role in transforming medical education. 

Borrowing on materials from Johns Hopkins University and the Osler Library at McGill University, the William Osler Papers in Profiles in Science, National Library of Medicine (NLM) features digitized primary historical materials, including correspondence, published articles, notebook excerpts, report drafts, and photographs selected from these collaborating institutions.

The items are divided into chronological sections that include "Osler, Medical History, and Medical Libraries" and "Sir William: Regius Professor at Oxford, 1905-1919."

Find out How Many Americans Experienced Mental Illness in the Past Year?

Congress established the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) in 1992 to "target effectively substance abuse and mental health services to the people most in need." On their homepage, you can get start by clicking on the "Data" link at the top of the page and reading through the "What We Are Doing" section. Here you will find highlights of recent reports, state-level data on these topics, and a series of mental health statistics reports. The top of their homepage contains additional sections of interest, including "Grants", "Publications", "Data", and "Newsroom". You should also take a look at the "Featured Resource", which is also on the homepage. In addition, many of the site's materials are available in Spanish.

Follow SAMHSA on various social networks including Facebook, YouTube, and Twitter, and also sign up for their mailing list if you wish to keep up with this valuable organization.

Save Time Creating Presentations

Clinical Key has a built in Presentation Maker that allows you to take images you find within Clinical Key and put them into a presentation layout that can then be exported to Microsoft PowerPoint.  Drag and drop images into the Presentation Maker from your search results page, or select an image and then click the Add to Presentation button.  The necessary reference citations for each of your images will be added automatically.

If you want to view or delete an image, click the Presentation button to View or Remove it as needed.  Once you've made your changes, you can click the Export to PowerPoint button to transfer your created presentation.

 Authorized users of Clinical Key have permission to use content from the site in presentations for noncommercial use.  You must keep intact all copyright and other proprietary notices.

Access to Clinical Key is available from the Library’s homepage under “Databases”.  For more information contact the Library Reference staff at 718.430.3104, or emailaskref@einstein.yu.edu.

VOLUNTEERING OPPORTUNITIES IN NEW YORK CITY

Volunteering is about promoting goodness or improving ones quality of life. The following is a list that represents only a small sampling of volunteers’ opportunities in New York City. It's organized by categories to help you pinpoint your interests. 

A good place to start is with the 'umbrella' organizations at the bottom of the page, which enables you to choose from among hundreds of volunteer opportunities in the city.

AIDS ORGANIZATIONS
BOOM!Health
Friends In Deed
GMHC
Housing Works
Visual Aids

ANIMALS
Animal Haven
ASPCA
City Critters
Humane Society
Stray from the Heart

THE ARTS
Materials for the Arts
MoMA
NY Philharmonic
Playwrights Horizons

CANCER
American Cancer Society
Gilda's Club

CITY INSTITUTIONS
Big Apple Greeter
National Archives
NY Aquarium
NY Public Library
Parks

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE
Safe Horizon
Sanctuary for Families

THE ELDERLY
Citymeals-on-Wheels
DOROT
NY Foundation for Senior Citizens
Visiting Nurse Service

ENVIRONMENT
Green Guerillas
NY Restoration Project
Transportation Alternatives
Wetlands

FAMILY PLANNING
Planned Parenthood

GAY AND LESBIAN
Anti-Violence Project
GLAAD
Human Rights Campaign
LGBT Community Center
NYCPride

THE HOMELESS
Bowery Mission
Coalition for the Homeless
Habitat NYC
Partnership for the Homeless

HOSPITALS
Mount Sinai
NY Eye and Ear
New York-Presbyterian
NYU Langone
 

HUNGER
City Harvest
Citymeals-on-Wheels
Food Bank
God's Love We Deliver
Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen
NYC Coalition Against Hunger

KIDS/MENTORING/LEARNING
Big Brothers/Big Sisters
Children's Aid Society
826NYC
Girls Write Now
I Have a Dream
Learning Leaders
Literacy Partners
Make-A-Wish
Mentor
National Urban League
NY Foundling
NY Youth at Risk
Only Make Believe
Ronald McDonald House

UMBRELLA ORGANIZATIONS
NY Cares
NYC Service
One Brick
UJA
Volunteer Match
Volunteer Referral Center

 

Find the Answer to Practically Anything for Senior Adults

The NIHSeniorHealth website, from the National Institute on Aging and the National Library of Medicine, offers basic health and wellness information for older adults. Users can click on a button to hear the text read aloud or enlarge the type and change the contrast to bright yellow print on a black background to help those with vision impairment.

NIHSeniorHealth also provides short, informative videos on a variety of topics.

The site includes all sorts of topics, from falls to cataracts.  It now also includes a
module on end of life.

The subtopics include:

  • Preparing For The End of Life

  • Addressing Pain

  • Addressing Other Signs and Symptoms

  • Addressing Mental and Emotional Issues

  • Types Of Care

  • Places Of Care

  • Planning For Care

  • Paying For Care

  • Handling Health Care Issues

  • Support For Caregivers

  • When The End Comes

  • Coping With Grief

  • Drug Information Portal

Federal Health Guidelines for Healthcare Professionals

National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR), in partnership with the American Medical Association (AMA) and the American Association of Health Plans (AAHP) .

 

The "Find" heading on the bottom of the home page directs you to the various "browse" features on the Web site that can be found in the left-hand navigation menu under the "Guidelines" button. These browses include: Browse by Topic, Browse by Organization, Browse Guidelines in Progress, Browse Guideline Index, Browse Guideline Archives, Browse Related NQMC Measures.

 

To find guidelines on a specific topic, type your search term in the search box accessible in the masthead of all NGC Web pages to quickly search the database. You can also browse the NGC database by Topic (Disease/Condition, Treatment/Intervention, and Health Services Administration) or Organization.

 

"Search," also known as "basic search" or "main search" is accessed via the search box on the home page or globally in the masthead.   

You can also use Advanced Search to perform refined searches of the NGC database. This feature allows you to filter your search by one or more guideline attributes (e.g., Clinical Specialty, Intended Users, Guideline Category). The total data set is narrowed as you select filters to refine your search results.  

See About Search for useful tips on how to search the NGC database for guidelines of interest.

Find MeSH Terms Directly from Your Text

The National Library of Medicine launched MeSH on Demand, a new feature that uses the NLM Medical Text Indexer (MTI) to find MeSH terms.  MeSH on Demand has been developed in close collaboration between MeSH Section, NLM Index Section, and the Lister Hill National Center for Biomedical Communications. 

Use MeSH on Demand to find MeSH terms relevant to your text up to 10,000 characters. One of the strengths of MeSH on Demand is its ease of use without any prior knowledge of the MeSH vocabulary and without any downloads. 

Follow the link to read the entire announcement http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/techbull/mj14/mj14_mesh_on_demand.html

NCBI General Research Use Collection Streamlines Access to Patient-Level Data in dbGaP

In response to many requests from dbGaP users to simplify and streamline the data access request process while respecting patient consent, dbGaP staff have identified “General Research Use” individuals from different studies and created a collection that allows users to access data on these individuals through a single access request.

Most studies in dbGaP have a significant fraction of participants who consented for “General Research Use." NIH recognizes that the consents for these study participants are essentially the same, even though the individuals participated in different studies. Therefore, NIH decided to create a streamlined process that would allow users to obtain data on the collection of the individuals who consented for “General Research Use” in one single request.

Read about the news release here http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/news/07-29-2014-dbgap-general-research-use-collection/.

For more information, visit the dbGaP study page.

Calculate Your Body Mass Index

UpToDate includes more than 135 interactive medical calculators that allow you to enter the values in commonly used formulas to obtain numerical data. Calculators in UpToDate are organized according to subject areas, such as Oncology or Allergy and Immunology. Each subject area offers many different calculators. When in UpToDate, click on the "Calculators" tab (shown below) and navigate by topic area.

Endocrinology and Diabetes, for example, offers the following calculators:

Clinical Criteria

Medical Equations

UpToDate is available only to Einstein students and Einstein faculty at the medical school. 

Access to UpToDate is available from the library’s homepage with your Remote Access User ID and Password.  If you do not have a Remote Access account, contact the Reference Department askref@einstein.yu.edu or 718.430.3104.

Featured Website

Infoshare Online was developed by Leonard Rodberg and John Seley, faculty members at Queens College of the City University of New York (CUNY).  The Infoshare Online tool, which began in 1988, provides free subscriptions to individuals and allows users to access a wide range of data on demographics about New York City and New York State. Demographic data covered Includes population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local trade data, and much more.

You can profile individual neighborhoods, compare neighborhoods using selected indicators, and produce your own detailed tables. Data can be printed or saved to a spreadsheet or database file. Maps comparing neighborhoods for selected data can be viewed, printed, and saved.

Find Infoshare Online on the Library’s Website http://library.einstein.yu.edu .  Click “More” under "Databases".

To download the guide to Infoshare, click here.

WHO NAMED IT?

An eponym is a word derived from the name of a person, whether real or fictional. A medical eponym is thus any word related to medicine, whose name is derived from a person. The Website Whonamedit is a biographical dictionary of medical eponyms. No information found here must under any circumstances be used for medical purposes, diagnostically, therapeutically or otherwise. It is only a survey of all medical phenomena named for a person, with a biography of that person.

TWO RESOURCES FOR STUDENTS OF ANATOMY AND MEDICINE

Instant Anatomy

Created by Professor Robert Whitaker, Instant Anatomy was designed to teach medical students about anatomy. You will find a range of materials, including diagrams, illustrations, quizzes, tips, mnemonics, and so on. On the homepage, visitors will find a What's New area, which includes podcasts that deal with subjects such as the small muscles of the hand and the anatomy of the posterior forearm. Other sections on the homepage include Head & Neck, Thorax, Abdomen, Arm, and Leg. Each of these sections includes dozens of illustrations, along with some useful Brain Training Games. These games are designed to increase comprehension of the materials covered in each area. Moving on, the Lectures area includes talks such as "Parasympathetic Supply of the Head," "Cortical Control of Cranial Nerves," and several others. The site is rounded out by a collection of iPhone and iPad apps, along with a set of detailed flash cards.

Medical Mneumonics: Students of anatomy and medicine often employ mnemonics to remember complex pathways, algorithms, and symptom groups. This site provides a database of medical mnemonics gathered from a group of contributors (many of them doctors). Search, or browse by topic such as anesthesiology, cardiology, pathology, immunology, and urology. Also includes a version of the database for portable devices and links to related sites

.

HEALTH ADVISORY

The New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Advisory (NYC DOHMH), posted September 17, 2014.
Human Enterovirus 68 (EV-D68).  For doctors, laboratories and hospitals.  

  • During recent weeks, several parts of the United States, including New York City, have identified human enterovirus 68 (EV-D68) infections in children, causing respiratory illness severe enough to require hospitalization.

  • NYC clinicians should consider EV-D68 in the differential diagnosis of respiratory illness requiring hospitalization in children.

  • Guidance below is provided on infection control, EV-D68 diagnostic testing, and reporting requirements.

Additional resources:

CDC MMWR 2011 - Clusters of Acute Respiratory Illness Associated with Human Enterovirus 68 --- Asia, Europe, and United States, 2008—2010

CDC MMWR 2014 - Severe Respiratory Illness Associated with Enterovirus D68 — Missouri and Illinois, 2014

CDC EV-D68 Website