Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Good To Know: 2015

A compilation of library events and activities and resources

DOCs (Dogs On Call)

DOCs (Dogs on Call) made a house call to the Library on February 25 to help students relieve the stress of studying for exams.  Students emerged from the Reading Room to pet and play with the dogs  who were stationed in Circulation/Reference desk area.  The dogs (Elvis, Britnee, Tango, Molly, Jessi, and Bentley) clearly enjoyed the attention lavished upon them.  There was a lot of laughter, many smiles as well as spirited conversations with the dogs’ owners. 

DOCs is a dog therapy program based at Jacobi Medical Center.  The dogs and their owners are volunteers who are trained and certified by nationwide organizations to provide pet therapy in hospitals, schools, etc.   Their regular visits to Jacobi  help patients heal and smile. 

The dogs’ owners were extremely gracious, standing by proudly as students petted, snuggled and nuzzled their pets.  Our students appreciated a few hours of unconditional canine affection and relaxation -- a welcome break from exam prep stress. Several students said were so impressed with the therapy dogs that they plan on incorporating them in patient care in their future careers.  Curious faculty and staff also stopped by to see what the hubbub was all about and walked away smiling. The event was a hit!  DOCs brought a warm ray of canine sunshine to everybody in attendance on a cold February afternoon. 

DOCs will come back for a return engagement!

Celebrate National Library Week!

Celebrate National Library week at the Library, April 13-17! Stop by the Circulation Desk and enter a raffle to win a gift card. Show your appreciation for our Circulation and Interlibrary Loan staff on Tuesday, National Library Workers Day. Get a (candy) kiss from our librarians. Pick up information on how to access Library resources such as uCentral and BrowZine on your mobile device. Test-drive  our new iPad minis or borrow a laptop. Stay on top of your grants: let us teach you how to get the most out of My NCBI. It’s all happening at the Library!

New Resource from the CDC Tracks Environmental Public Health

The CDC recently released InfoByLocation, a new resource that tracks environmental public health. Users can search by county or zip code.  The results snapshot is broken down into five categories: demographics, asthma, air quality, smoking, and health insurance. For more detailed information, each category contains links to “Discover the data” and “Learn more about this topic.”

“Discover the data” links to the National Environmental Public Health Tracking Network Reporting Tool, a collaboration between the CDC and state and local health departments. This database currently includes over 50 GB of data, 1.4 million unique maps, and covers 35 environmental health issues.  The robust search tool allows users to select specific environmental health issue; choose geographic location and timeframe; and refine with advanced options. Results are displayed as maps, charts or tables. The timeline map view provides an easy way to see changes over multiple years.  Data is available in CSV format for use in spreadsheets and statistical software packages. Maps, charts and tables can be saved as image files in .PNG format for use in reports and presentations. Climate change is the most recent addition to this database, including predicted extreme heat days for the next 60 years.

To learn more about the CDC’s National Environmental Public Health Tracking Network, visit http://ephtracking.cdc.gov/showHome.action.

If You Can't Come To The Library, The Library Will Come To You!

  

L-R Aurelia Minuti, Patti Thompson

On August 11,  the D. Samuel Gottesman Library staff brought information and refreshments to the Price Center lobby.  Researchers and staff were able to get registered for access to the library’s print and electronic resources, update their library record, obtain information about library services and resources, and chat with librarians while enjoying snacks and soft drinks.  Information was provided about citation management programs such as EndNote & Mendeley, databases such as PubMed, Embase & Web of Science, mobile resources, classes and individual instruction, iPads and laptops available for borrowing, and help with systematic reviews.

Learn About Potential Environmental Health Risks In Your Neighborhood

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) Tox Town city neighborhood has updated its graphics with a new photorealistic look. Location and chemical information remains the same, but the new graphics allow users to better identify real-life city locations.

Tox Town City can be accessed on a variety of personal electronic devices, including iPads, iPad minis, and other tablets.

Read the NLM Technical Bulletin brief in the 2015 July - August No. 405 issue.  

Embargo Watch

Medical journalist Ivan Oransky has created Embargo Watch to "keep an eye on how scientific information embargoes affect news coverage."

Here readers will find the latest details on how famous journals like Nature, Science, the Lancet, PNAS (and many others) release information to journalists with the expectation that news reports will, at least usually, coincide with the publication of the articles in question.

The blog entries on this site, which tend to be published monthly or as problems with embargoes arise, are insightful, and informative for anyone interested in how journalism works behind the scenes.

Careers In Science Publishing

The Career & Professional Development Program For Graduate Students & Postdocs & the D. Samuel Gottesman Library present an afternoon of collaboration, career development, and ice cream!

4:00-5:00 Introduction to F1000 Workspace Register Here

F1000 Workspace is a new an powerful tool for collecting, managing, sharing, collaborating, and citing scientific literature. Kinga Hosszu and Cesar Berrios-Otero from F1000 will show you how to make the most out of this powerful, time-saving tool.
F1000 Workspace is brought to you by the D. Samuel Gottesman Library.

5:00-6:00: Careers in Science Publishing Register Here

The days when most PhDs ended up in academia are long gone. Whether the shift is due to the changing employment landscape or to increased attention to personal interests, the majority of PhD graduates today pursue “alternative” careers. Publishing and media companies have a strong need for content and technology experts, and PhD graduate offer transferable skills that are particularly well suited to these jobs. The world of science publishing allows PhDs to employ their technical knowledge and keep their finger on the pulse of science, while gaining knowledge on broader topics. This presentation expands on career opportunities in science publishing, explains job requirements, gives an idea of potential career trajectories, and offers tips on how to get that coveted position.

Refreshments will be served !

Thursday, July 23, 2015

4:00pm - 6:00pm

Library Training Room, Forchheimer 119N

Presenter: Kinga K. Hosszu & Cesar Berrios-Otero from F1000

REGISTER HERE or contact Nancy Glassman for more information.

Use Favorites To Bookmark Important Topics Using Your Unbound Medicine App

The ability to mark any topic as a Favorite is a built in feature of the uCentral app.  When you find a topic that you’d like to Favorite, look for the star icon on the screen and tap the star.  By tapping this icon, the star will fill in and you will know that your Favorite has been saved. 

The next time you’d like to view a list of every topic you’ve bookmarked you can use the Favorites menu located on the app home screen.  Tapping the topic will instantly bring you to that entry.  If you ever want to remove a topic from your list of Favorites, you can always tap the star on the screen or use the edit option found within the Favorites menu.

Innovative Apps for Health Providers Released in 2014

Here are three innovative apps for physicians and healthcare providers released in 2014. These apps are free and they are available for all platforms: iPhone, iPad and Android. Use your own Apple iTunes account to download a free copy.

CDC Vaccine Schedules

The CDC’s Vaccine Schedule app is essential for primary care, pediatric or any physician who gives vaccinations to their patients. Some of the more prominent features of the app are the ability to look up recommended adult vaccines based on conditions such as pregnancy, diabetes, HIV, and more. 

    

JAMA Network Medical Image Challenge

JAMA released their version of the image challenge app — the JAMA Network Medical Image Challenge. The app has an interesting quiz function and is great for learning on the go. You can compare your answers to peers and also see how you’re progressing through a point scoring system.  

   

ASCVD Risk Estimator

The ASCVD Risk Estimator provided by the American College of Cardiology was released in 2014. The app helps health care providers and patients estimate 10 year and lifetime risks for atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease. This mobile app can help change a physician’s workflow and practice for the better.

    

Health Information in Multiple Languages

Many health care providers and patients are familiar with MedlinePlus.gov, the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) consumer health website. What they may not know is that the NLM also provides health-related articles in 44 other languages; from Amharic and Arabic, to Urdu and Vietnamese. Spanish has its own MedlinePlus site, MedlinePlus en español.
 
Users can navigate the collection of health information in multiple languages either by language or by topic. A page listing all of the languages covered is linked from the Multiple Languages link on the bottom right corner of the MedlinePlus homepage. Users can browse these languages and click through to the page listing all of the topics covered for a given language. Additionally, a languages box is displayed on the right side of the English language Health Topic pages. The languages box lists the languages with links on that topic in MedlinePlus. This box also links users to the collection of health information in multiple languages.

AHRQ Announces Public Access Requirement for Federally Funded Research

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) recently announced plans for establishing its own policy for public access to scientific publications and data. The policy, which will go into effect in October 2015 applies to all scientific publications and data in digital format arising from unclassified research and programs funded in whole or in part by AHRQ.  Implementation of the policy will be prospective and will not apply do publications or data arising from AHRQ-sponsored research funded prior to the publication of the final AHRQ Public Access Policy.

The policy will require authors to submit the final peer-reviewed accepted journal manuscripts to PubMed Central (PMC). If the final peer-reviewed manuscript is not available, AHRQ will accept the final published PDF as long as authors can ensure they have the rights to made the PDF available to the public.

Digitally formatted data resulting from unclassified research should be stored and publicly accessible to search, retrieve, and analyze. At the present time, AHRQ does not offer a specified data repository. AHRQ-funded researchers will be required to include a data management plan describing the way their research data will be stored and shared.

More details about AHRQ’s public access policy are available at http://www.ahrq.gov/funding/policies/publicaccess/index.html.

To learn more about submitting manuscripts to PMC, visit: http://libguides.einstein.yu.edu/nih/nih_submit

More information on creating data management plans can be found at: http://libguides.einstein.yu.edu/rdm/dmp

New Hospital Leadership Toolkit from the AHA

A new report from the American Hospital Association (AHA) outlines how health system executives, boards and their communities can work together to improve the quality of care. The report, Leadership Toolkit for Redefining the H: Engaging Trustees and Communities, is the product of two AHA committees – one that hosted events in 2014 to collaborate with community partners, and another that conducted a survey of 949 CEOs and 629 trustees to gauge how well hospital and health system governance practices are prepared for a changing healthcare environment.
 
The report offers recommendations on how hospital leaders can work with patients, families and diverse community partners to meet the challenges of a transforming health care field. The report includes additional tools and resources focused on engaging communities and trustees. These resources provide guidance for hospitals to host their own community conversations and outline current high-performance governance practices, competency-based board composition and more.

How Will You Celebrate National Medical Library Month?

As part of National Medical Library Month, representatives from vendor companies are coming to the library in October to share their expertise with you.

  • Vendor Fair / Open House: Wednesday, October 28, 1:00pm – 6:00pm. Stop by for refreshments and find out about the many ways the Library staff can help you!
  • Get your own Library branded retractable ID holders and other giveaways.
  • Weekly Raffles: Answer a trivia question and be entered to win an Amazon or Starbucks gift card!  Get more information from the Reference staff at the library.
  • Amnesty Week: Overdue books or journals? Return them on Monday-Friday, October 26 – October 30 and you won’t have to pay the fine! Does not apply to Reserve items, Laptops, iPads, or fines accrued for items previously returned.
  • Enjoy a refreshment break courtesy of the Library staff.  Date and time to be announced.
  • Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, or subscribe to our YouTube channel    
    • Receive a glow-in-the-dark Frisbee - One Frisbee per person
    • Claim prizes in person at the Reference Desk, Monday - Thursday, 9am – 6pm; Friday, 9am – 5pm
    • Offer good while supplies last

Turn It On Right Now

Now available in Gmail settings, the useful "Undo Send" feature.  In the web version of Gmail, you can turn-on the function in "Settings" and you'll have the option to "Enable Undo Send," along with a pull-down menu that lets you customize the cancelation period anywhere from 10 to 30 seconds.  The way it works is that each time an email is sent, a pop-up appears offering the option to read the message or take it back.

To enable Undo Send:

  1. Click the gear in the top right
  2. Select Settings
  3. Scroll down to "Undo Send" and click Enable
  4. Set the cancelation period (the amount of time you have to decide if you want to unsend an email)
  5. Click Save Changes at the bottom of the page

If you had Undo Send turned on in Gmail Labs, your Undo Send setting will be on by default.

The "Undo Send" is not yet available for the Gmail mobile app.  Read about the Google announcement here.

Global Health Event In The Library

   

L-R, Dr. Louis Weiss, Jill Raufman, Karen Gardner

   

L-R, Nancy Glassman, Aurelia Minuti

The Library is hosting a traveling exhibit, Against the Odds: Making a Difference in Global Health, from the National Library of Medicine (NLM).  The exhibit features historical and contemporary photographs that highlight the role communities play in improving health locally and globally. It will be on display until July 10 opposite the Circulation Desk.

The library and the Global Health Center co-hosted a reception on Thursday, June 25, from 4 to 5 p.m. In addition to offering an opportunity to view Against the Odds: Making a Difference in Global Health, attendees gained insights into the breadth of Einstein’s global health involvement and resources for global health research available at the library.  Dr. Louis Weiss and Ms. Jill Raufman, directors of the center, described the various worldwide programs and opportunities available to our students.  A wide array of global health resources in support of these research programs are available through the Library.

A New Addition to uCentral – Notes

With the new Notes feature in uCentral you can add your own customized notes and highlights within entries. Multiple color options are available for easy organization.  All Notes will automatically sync across your mobile devices as well as the web. 

When you find a passage in a topic that you want to add a personal note to, you can simply use your finger to highlight the text.  Choose the note option and a text field will appear for you to write in.  When you’re finished, you can change the highlight color and save your Note for later.

All of the Notes you created in uCentral can be found in the Notes section on the home screen.  By tapping the Notes channel you will see a complete list of your custom Notes with highlight colors.

Tap the Note to be immediately directed to where that note is located within the resource

If you are viewing an entry that already has a note, you will see the text highlighted within the entry.  By tapping the highlighted text, you can view the Note in more detail as well as edit it.  On an iPad, you will see the Notes icon at the top of every entry.  If the topic you are viewing has at least one Note, the icon will be illuminated and by tapping it you can get a quick view of all of the notes found in that entry.

Why is ScienceDirect no longer supporting Internet Explorer 8?

Effective January 1, 2016, ScienceDirect will no longer support Internet Explorer 8 (IE8).

By ceasing support of IE8 ScienceDirect is following Microsoft’s directive to focus their support on newer, officially-supported IE browser versions. Microsoft announced in 2014 that, as of January 2016, it would only support the most recent IE browser version with technical support and security updates. ScienceDirect strongly encourage their users to follow Microsoft’s directive as well by updating to more recent versions of IE. Additionally, users can move to the latest versions of the Chrome or Firefox browsers for an optimal ScienceDirect experience.

By removing IE8 from their support list, ScienceDirect will be able to provide the following future enhancements:

  • Remove current IE8 security issues
  • Enhance existing security measures across all browsers
  • Add support for new browser technologies
  • Add responsive design to aid use of ScienceDirect across devices
  • Improve accessibility to better enable access to people with diverse abilities

If you have any questions or concerns, please visit the ScienceDirect Blog for more details or contact them at usinfo@elsevier.com .