Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BiblioBlast, October 2014: Home

The D. Samuel Gottesman Library's Monthly Newsletter

WELCOME

Welcome to BiblioBlast, the newsletter of the D. Samuel Gottesman Library of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. BiblioBlast will inform you about new Library resources and keep you up to date with our classes, events and other activities. It will also highlight tips to make our online resources easier and faster to use. 

Sign up to receive BiblioBlast via email.

In this issue:

October is National Medical Library Month!

From the Library Archives

Print, DVD, and Ph.D. Titles

Health Advisory

Two Resources for Students of Anatomy and Medicine

Who Named It?

Volunteering Opportunities in New York City

Einstein Book Club

Time to Fall Back

 

Upcoming Library Events

Workshops are held via Zoom. Click on a title to sign up.

Contact the Reference Department for more information, or to schedule an individual or small-group session.

TIME TO FALL BACK

Don't forget to set your clocks back 1 hour, Sunday, November 2, at 2:00 A.M.

WHO NAMED IT?

An eponym is a word derived from the name of a person, whether real or fictional. A medical eponym is thus any word related to medicine, whose name is derived from a person. The Website Whonamedit is a biographical dictionary of medical eponyms. No information found here must under any circumstances be used for medical purposes, diagnostically, therapeutically or otherwise. It is only a survey of all medical phenomena named for a person, with a biography of that person.

EINSTEIN BOOK CLUB

The Einstein Book Club will meet Wednesday, November 12, 9:00am, in the Library Conference Room, Forchheimer 119N, to discuss Sin in the Second City: Madams, Ministers, Playboys, and the Battle for America's Soul, by Karen Abbott. 

All members of the Einstein community are welcome. 

If you have any questions about the club, please contact the Reference Department at askref@einstein.yu.edu or 718.430.3104.

 

OCTOBER IS NATIONAL MEDICAL LIBRARY MONTH!

Celebrate at the D. Samuel Gottesman Library! National Medical Library Month highlights include:

  • Weekly raffles
  • Library-branded swag
  • Useful chip clips
  • Snazzy Metro Card holders
  • Pens
  • Practical jar openers
  • Learn about Library resources, services and workshops
  • Like us on FaceBook, follow us on Twitter, or subscribe to our YouTube channel and win a glow-in-the-dark Frisbee
  • Amnesty Week: Overdue books or journals? Return them October 27 – 31 and you won’t have to pay the fine! Does not apply to Reserve items, Laptops or iPads.
  • Open House: Stop by for refreshments and find out how the Library can help you. Friday, October 31, 3:00pm – 4:00pm.

Get the details on our NMLM website

HEALTH ADVISORY

The New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Advisory (NYC DOHMH), posted September 17, 2014.
Human Enterovirus 68 (EV-D68).  For doctors, laboratories and hospitals.  

  • During recent weeks, several parts of the United States, including New York City, have identified human enterovirus 68 (EV-D68) infections in children, causing respiratory illness severe enough to require hospitalization.

  • NYC clinicians should consider EV-D68 in the differential diagnosis of respiratory illness requiring hospitalization in children.

  • Guidance below is provided on infection control, EV-D68 diagnostic testing, and reporting requirements.

Additional resources:

CDC MMWR 2011 - Clusters of Acute Respiratory Illness Associated with Human Enterovirus 68 --- Asia, Europe, and United States, 2008—2010

CDC MMWR 2014 - Severe Respiratory Illness Associated with Enterovirus D68 — Missouri and Illinois, 2014

CDC EV-D68 Website

TWO RESOURCES FOR STUDENTS OF ANATOMY AND MEDICINE

Instant Anatomy

Created by Professor Robert Whitaker, Instant Anatomy was designed to teach medical students about anatomy. You will find a range of materials, including diagrams, illustrations, quizzes, tips, mnemonics, and so on. On the homepage, visitors will find a What's New area, which includes podcasts that deal with subjects such as the small muscles of the hand and the anatomy of the posterior forearm. Other sections on the homepage include Head & Neck, Thorax, Abdomen, Arm, and Leg. Each of these sections includes dozens of illustrations, along with some useful Brain Training Games. These games are designed to increase comprehension of the materials covered in each area. Moving on, the Lectures area includes talks such as "Parasympathetic Supply of the Head," "Cortical Control of Cranial Nerves," and several others. The site is rounded out by a collection of iPhone and iPad apps, along with a set of detailed flash cards.

Medical Mneumonics: Students of anatomy and medicine often employ mnemonics to remember complex pathways, algorithms, and symptom groups. This site provides a database of medical mnemonics gathered from a group of contributors (many of them doctors). Search, or browse by topic such as anesthesiology, cardiology, pathology, immunology, and urology. Also includes a version of the database for portable devices and links to related sites

.

VOLUNTEERING OPPORTUNITIES IN NEW YORK CITY

Volunteering is about promoting goodness or improving ones quality of life. The following is a list that represents only a small sampling of volunteers’ opportunities in New York City. It's organized by categories to help you pinpoint your interests. 

A good place to start is with the 'umbrella' organizations at the bottom of the page, which enables you to choose from among hundreds of volunteer opportunities in the city.

AIDS ORGANIZATIONS
BOOM!Health
Friends In Deed
GMHC
Housing Works
Visual Aids

ANIMALS
Animal Haven
ASPCA
City Critters
Humane Society
Stray from the Heart

THE ARTS
Materials for the Arts
MoMA
NY Philharmonic
Playwrights Horizons

CANCER
American Cancer Society
Gilda's Club

CITY INSTITUTIONS
Big Apple Greeter
National Archives
NY Aquarium
NY Public Library
Parks

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE
Safe Horizon
Sanctuary for Families

THE ELDERLY
Citymeals-on-Wheels
DOROT
NY Foundation for Senior Citizens
Visiting Nurse Service

ENVIRONMENT
Green Guerillas
NY Restoration Project
Transportation Alternatives
Wetlands

FAMILY PLANNING
Planned Parenthood

GAY AND LESBIAN
Anti-Violence Project
GLAAD
Human Rights Campaign
LGBT Community Center
NYCPride

THE HOMELESS
Bowery Mission
Coalition for the Homeless
Habitat NYC
Partnership for the Homeless

HOSPITALS
Mount Sinai
NY Eye and Ear
New York-Presbyterian
NYU Langone
 

HUNGER
City Harvest
Citymeals-on-Wheels
Food Bank
God's Love We Deliver
Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen
NYC Coalition Against Hunger

KIDS/MENTORING/LEARNING
Big Brothers/Big Sisters
Children's Aid Society
826NYC
Girls Write Now
I Have a Dream
Learning Leaders
Literacy Partners
Make-A-Wish
Mentor
National Urban League
NY Foundling
NY Youth at Risk
Only Make Believe
Ronald McDonald House

UMBRELLA ORGANIZATIONS
NY Cares
NYC Service
One Brick
UJA
Volunteer Match
Volunteer Referral Center

 

FROM THE LIBRARY ARCHIVES

Photograph of Mrs. Roosevelt and patient with Dr. Henry Barnett Chairman, Department of Pediatrics. 195-?