Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biblioblast, September 2014: Home

The D. Samuel Gottesman Library's Monthly Newsletter

Welcome!

Welcome to BiblioBlast, the newsletter of the D. Samuel Gottesman Library of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. BiblioBlast will inform you about new Library resources and keep you up to date with our classes, events and other activities. It will also highlight tips to make our online resources easier and faster to use. 

Sign up to receive BiblioBlast via email.

In this issue:

Upcoming Library Events

Workshops are held via Zoom. Click on a title to sign up.

Contact the Reference Department for more information, or to schedule an individual or small-group session.

Einstein Book Club Turns Five!

The Einstein Book Club will celebrate its five-year anniversary at a meeting on November 12. We will discuss Sin in the Second City: Madams, Ministers, Playboys, and the Battle for America's Soul, by Karen Abbott. Join us at 9:00am. The Book Club is open to the entire Einstein community.

 

Last Chance To See Faculty Journal Editors Exhibit

The Faculty Journal Editors Exhibit features 17 journal editors-in-chief and coeditors-in-chief, as well as many others holding editorial positions at journals, serials and websites.  It is on view in the Library Lobby during the month of September. An online version of the exhibit is coming soon.

ILLiad Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan System

Do you need a book, journal article or thesis for your research that the Library doesn’t have? The Library can obtain it for you via Interlibrary Loan, a service that provides materials not owned by the Llibrary.
 
ILLiad is the electronic program that delivers articles to your desktop. You must be registered in the Einstein Library database to use ILLiad. Students, faculty, postdocs and staff at Einstein and Ferkauf are eligible as are faculty and residents at Jacobi. To register for an ILLiad account, click Interlibrary Loan on the Library website. Username is the 10-digit barcode on your Einstein picture ID that begins with 2 or the blue Library barcode. Password is your last name.

You can submit and track requests online 24 hours a day. You will receive an electronic notification when the requested material is delivered to your account or ready for pickup, if it’s a book. PDFs in your ILLiad account can be accessed for 30 days.
 
Submitting a request is easy. Log on to your ILLiad account and complete the required fields. Requests can also be submitted directly from PubMed through the Library website. In PubMed, click the  link that appears either to the right or below an abstract. If full text is not available for the article, choose the option Submit Interlibrary loan request and proceed from there.
 
Turnaround time for articles is typically 1-3 business days from the time the request is made. Book requests usually take approximately one week.
 
From satisfied users:
“amazing!!! I LOVE it!!”
“Thank you so much for your amazingly quick response, it is greatly appreciated!”
" [A librarian] recently aided me in a last minute search for a dated article (1901)… True to form … the library staff immediately found the article within the space of a DAY!”
“YOU ARE A MAGICIAN!  THANK YOU!!”

Global Health and More from CAB Direct

CAB Direct provides access to the Global Health and CAB Abstracts (agricultural and environmental information) databases from CABI, an international nonprofit public health and environmental organization.  Compiled from journals, reports, books and conferences, CAB Direct contains millions of scientific records from 1973 to the present. CAB Direct is updated weekly. Publications from over 100 countries in 50 languages are abstracted, and all relevant non-English-language papers are translated to give access to research not available through any other database. Approximately 40% of material contained in Global Health is unique to the database. Everything from proceedings, theses, electronic-only publications and other hard-to-find sources are included. Global Health also has a growing number of full text articles (over 45,000) from journals, conferences and reports.

U.S. Global Health Budget Tracker

The U.S. Global Health Budget Tracker a new interactive online tool from Kaiser Family Foundation lets you follow the global health budget from the President’s budget request through the appropriations process in Congress, as well as see trends over time. Data are provided for global health program areas (e.g., HIV, TB, family planning/reproductive health) by agency (e.g., USAID, CDC) and by major initiative (e.g., PEPFAR).

The tracker contains final budget data dating back to fiscal year 2006. The most recent is for FY2015.

Canopy Medical Translator App

Canopy Medical Translator App is a new medical translator app funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to help providers instantly communicate in their patients’ native languages. The app can translate more than 10 languages to and from English, including Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, French, Japanese, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Korean, Portuguese, Russian and Vietnamese.
 
The free app requires iOS 7.0 or later and is compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch. If you're searching for Canopy Medical Translator using an iPad, switch to iPhone Only at the top of the App Store search results. After downloading
the app, use access code 1515 (for a short time only) to unlock it or request an access code. The language defaults to translate English to Spanish. If you require other languages, you will need to unlock the ability to download by sharing Canopy with your colleagues, using either text message, email, Facebook, or Twitter.
 
Commonly used medical phrases in eight conversational situations are included. Users can also create and save their own phrases.

Ebola Resources

A new web page, Ebola Outbreak 2014: Information Resources, is now available from the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) Disaster Information Management Research Center. The guide includes resources from the biomedical literature, the World Health Organization, U.S. government agencies, the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control and other reputable sources.