Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biblioblast, May 2014: Home

The D. Samuel Gottesman Library's Monthly Newsletter

Welcome!

Welcome to BiblioBlast, the newsletter of the D. Samuel Gottesman Library of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. BiblioBlast will inform you about new Library resources and keep you up to date with our classes, events and other activities. It will also highlight tips to make our online resources easier and faster to use. 

Sign up to receive BiblioBlast via email.

In this issue: 

Find New Funding Opportunities
Who knew? The Library Has GIDEON (Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Online Network)
Download NEJM Articles Directly to PowerPoint
Systematic Review? Librarians Can Help!
Printing in the Library
Scientific Style and Format Guide
Einstein Authors Exhibit Online
Einstein Book Club
New Print Books
New E-Books

Upcoming Library Events

Workshops are held via Zoom. Click on a title to sign up.

Contact the Reference Department for more information, or to schedule an individual or small-group session.

Einstein Book Club


Join the Book Club next Wednesday, May 14 at 9:00am for a discussion of The Golem and the Jinni, by Helene Wecker, "a spellbinding blend of fantasy and historical fiction," set in nineteenth century New York.

If you are unable to make it to that meeting, go back to sixteenth century England with the first of the Matthew Shardlake Tudor Mysteries, Dissolution, by C. J. Sansom. We’ll meet to discuss it on July 9.

Find New Funding Opportunities

Looking for new funding opportunities? Check out SciVal Funding, a free tool from Elsevier. 

SciVal Funding aggregates funding information from a variety of sources such as

  • government, including NIH
  • corporations
  • private foundations
  • international non-governmental organizations
  • and many more

New funding opportunities are added to SciVal Funding every day.  The database also covers previously awarded grants beginning in 2005, making it easy to see trends in scientific research funding.

Use SciVal Funding to find new sponsors and collaborators that match your research interests.  SciVal Funding is a great resource for relevant grant and funding opportunities for faculty, investigators, postdocs, trainees, clinical researchers, and students. 

For faculty listed in Einstein Research Profiles, funding opportunity recommendations are based on a “fingerprint” derived from the publications in the faculty member's Profile.

The easiest ways to access SciVal is through the D. Samuel Gottesman Library at http://library.einstein.yu.edu/Research/index.php or the Collaboration Zone at http://www.einstein.yu.edu/research/collaboration-zone/.

Download NEJM Articles Directly to PowerPoint

The New England Journal of Medicine now offers institutional subscribers, such as our Library, the ability to download images, illustrations, and tables as individual PowerPoint slides or to turn an entire NEJM article into a complete presentation. This provides an easy way to present images, summarize key points, and present the conclusion of an article.  You may download any image, illustration, or table from directly into PowerPoint, or you may download complete articles into PowerPoint Slide Sets. Slide sets include a title page with citations, a summary of the article’s main points and conclusions, plus all associated images, illustrations and tables. Slide Sets are available for most current and many archived articles.

Graphics that are downloadable as PowerPoint slides have a SLIDE link above and on the right side of the image. Click the SLIDE link to download a formatted, editable PowerPoint slide. A slide set can be downloaded using the link on the Tools Menu.  The complete citation is included.

Printing in the Library

We have been working on resolving the problems with our printing system.  Blue boxes are gone from the Beren Study Center! The black & white and color printers now have PC print release stations. Just scan in the barcode on your Einstein ID and type your password on the keyboard. 

The duplex printer and color copier in the Copy Center alcove still require logging in using the blue boxes.

For more information, go to  http://libguides.einstein.yu.edu/print.

We realize there are additional issues with the printing system that must be addressed. We are working with ITS and our vendor to improve the system.

Your feedback is valuable to help improve Library services so please let us know what you think. Thank you for your input and patience. 

Who knew? The Library Has GIDEON (Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Online Network)

GIDEON is a global infectious disease database used for diagnosis and reference in the field of tropical medicine, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy.

The Infectious Diseases module encompasses over 340 infectious diseases, 231 countries, over 500 anti-infective drugs and vaccines. Microbiology includes more than 1,500 microbial taxa (bacteria, mycobacteria, yeasts); and Toxicology over 3,000 toxic agents.

GIDEON’s worldwide data sources essentially include the entire world’s literature and adhere to the standards of Evidence Based Medicine. Over 19,000 notes with three million words of text outline the status of specific infections within each country. Also featured are over 5,000 images, 30,000 graphs, 347 interactive maps and more than 150,000 linked references.

 Access GIDEON from the Library’s list of databases.

Systematic Review? Librarians Can Help!

The Institute of Medicine Standards for Systematic Reviews include the following requirement (Standard 3.1.1): “Work with a librarian or other information specialist trained in performing systematic reviews to plan the search strategy.” Similarly, the Methods Guide for Effectiveness and Comparative Effectiveness Reviews, from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), recommends that “[a] librarian or other expert searcher should be involved in the development of the search.”

Email the Reference Department or phone 718-430-3104 to set up an appointment. To learn more, take a look at our Systematic Reviews Guide.

Scientific Style and Format Guide

A trial is now available to Scientific Style and Format: the CSE Manual for Authors, Editors and Publishers now in its eighth edition and fully revised to reflect current best practices in scientific publishing. Changes include: 

  • new recommendations and examples for citing online images and information graphics, podcasts and webcasts, online videos, blogs, social networking sites, and e-books
  • full coverage of Creative Commons and other developments in copyright law
  • more comprehensive coverage of tables, figures, and indexes

Let us know what you think. Send your comments to Racheline Habousha, Library Director.

Einstein Authors Exhibit Online

The Library’s exhibit honoring Einstein authors and editors of print and e-books, published during the past two years is now online. This year we honor 21 authors who together have authored or edited 25 books. The collection includes topics in medical research, ethics, clinical medicine and psychology, consumer health, fiction and a memoir.