Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BiblioBlast, September 2013: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to BiblioBlast, the newsletter of the D. Samuel Gottesman Library of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. BiblioBlast will inform you about new Library resources and keep you up to date with our classes, events and other activities. It will also highlight tips to make our online resources easier and faster to use. 

Sign up to receive BiblioBlast via email.

In this issue:

Students, Find Your Online Library Guides!

You can find the Library resources you use most — study room reservations, printing and photocopying information, mobile apps and more — with one click. Guides are available for:

Bookmark your guide! If there's something we missed, let us know. Email askref@einstein.yu.edu.

Free Webinars for Students from the APA

The American Psychological Association (APA) is offering free 50-minute introductory and advanced webinars for students. The introductory session, geared towards those who are new to psychology, will explain how to do an effective search and manage your results. The advanced session, for students who would like to dig more deeply into the data, introduces additional tools for fine-tuning your search. More information is available on the APA website.

New PsycINFO YouTube Videos

Also from the APA, a newly redesigned YouTube channel for PsycINFO features short tutorials (most under 3 minutes). They demonstrate search tips and strategies across the APA databases. Due to the popularity of PsycTESTS, there is now a playlist specifically for PsycTESTS tutorials

New Features for the Library Scanner

Our popular scanner, located in the 24/7 Beren Study Center, has been upgraded. Users can now:

  • Send scans to their mobile devices via QR code.
  • Send documents to Google Drive.  This will work with students’ email accounts on Gmail.  After scanning, students must select the “Send to Cloud” option and enter their full email address and password. Regular gmail users just have to enter their username (but the entire email address will work, too).

Take a look at the Libray’s Printing, Scanning, and Photocopying guide with faqs on the new scanner features.

AHRQ Guide to Patient and Family Engagement in Hospital Quality and Safety

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) has developed the Guide to Patient and Family Engagement in Hospital Quality and Safety, an evidence-based resource to help hospitals work as partners with patients and families to improve quality and safety.

Sections include:

  • Working With Patients and Families as Advisors, which shows how hospitals can work with patients and family members as advisors at the organizational level.
  • Communicating to Improve Quality, which offers ways to improve communication among patients, family members, clinicians, and hospital staff from the point of admission.
  • Nurse Bedside Shift Report, which supports the safe handoff of care between nurses by involving the patient and family in the change of shift report for nurses.
  • Discharge Planning, which shows how to reduce preventable readmissions by engaging patients and family members in the transition from hospital to home.

New Version of PubReader is Released

PubMed Central (PMC), the National Library of Medicine’s free digital database of full-text literature in biomedical and life sciences, has just released an updated version of PubReader. Designed particularly for enhancing readability on tablet and other small screen devices, it’s a reader-friendly way to look at articles in the PMC archive. The new version (1.2) includes a "search this page" feature that allows you to find specific terms within the article.

Database of Instruments to Detect Cognitive Impairment in Older Adults

The National Institutes on Aging (NIA) has published a database of more than 100 published instruments for detecting Alzheimer’s disease and other types of cognitive impairment. Many instruments are suitable for outpatient practices and community studies. Each instrument was developed as a cognitive assessment for age-related dementia and has had at least three published studies since its debut and at least one publication in the last 10 years. Users can search the database by specific criteria, such as time to administer the instrument, the administrator’s level of expertise, cost, and target diagnosis. They can also find instruments that have been evaluated in specific populations and translated into languages other than English. Each instrument is summarized, with references cited and linked for easy access.

Einstein (Breakfast) Book Club

The Book Club has moved to a new morning time slot. We will meet next on November 6 at 9:00am to Death at La Fenice, the fist book in Donna Leon’s popular mystery series set in Venice. The Book Club is open to the entire Einstein community. We meet every other month.