Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Scholarly Paper

Getting ready to write your scholarly paper? This guide provides you with the resources you need to get it done.

Citation Managers

Citation management software makes it easy to collect and organize references to any type of information, from journal articles to multimedia files. These references can then be inserted into documents and formatted for publication -- painlessly. The Library supports several different citation managers. 

10 Tips for Avoiding Accidental Plagiarism

  1. Keep all of your references in one Library.  It will be easier to find them when you need them.
  2. Add references as soon as you come across them.  Don't wait until you are starting to write.
  3. Check for duplicates early & often. 
    2.5. Update your references.  Check to see if epubs or in-process citations have been published.
  4. Import publisher-supplied PDFs directly into your Library.
  5. Use Find Full Text or Attach Files to get PDFs for references already in your Library.  
  6. Annotate PDFs.  Many programs (including EN, Preview for Macs and Adobe Acrobat Pro) will let you highlight text and add notes. 
    6.5. Annotate references in you Library, using the Notes, Research Notes, or User-Defined fields.
  7. Organize with Groups.  References can belong to more than one Group.  It might be helpful to create a separate Group for each section of your manuscript. EndNote creates a temporary, system-generated Group of references being added to a document.  These references can be copied into a regular Group.
  8. Insert citations as you write.  Make it easier to see who you are citing by using an Author/Date style or unformatted citatations while you write. Change to department- or journal-specified style when you are finished writing.
  9. Use your word processor's Comments feature as reminders of passages that must be cited.
  10. Make sure the references you cite are correct!

EndNote

EndNote

EndNote is available free of charge to current Einstein students, postdocs, faculty, and staff through the Library's site license with Clarivate Analytics.

Learn more about EndNote.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free citation management tool that can be accessed on the web or installed on a computer.  The desktop version is available for Windows, Mac, and Linux.  Sync your Mendeley database across multiple computers.

 Learn more about Mendeley.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based citation management tool.  The D. Samuel Gottesman Library has a subscription.  It is available from on campus and remotely (with remote access ID and password).

  • Gather references from many online resources.
  • Save article PDFs
  • Format references into bibliographies and papers
  • Share references with colleagues
There are two versions of RefWorks

Legacy RefWorks is the classic interface most long-time RefWorks users are familiar with. Legacy RefWorks will continue to be supported.

New RefWorks has a streamlined, responsively-designed interface. You MUST use your institutional ID to create an account. It easy to export all of your references, file attachments, and folders from Legacy RefWorks. 

Learn more about RefWorks.

SciWheel (formerly F1000 Workspace)

Sciwheel

Sciwheel is a platform for scientists to collect, write & discuss scientific literature. References and full-text PDFs can be imported from databases such as PubMed. Sciwheel also includes tools for annotating and sharing PDFs. The plugin for Microsoft Word allows users to insert citations into documents and create formatted bibliographies. To enable roaming access, use your Einstein email address when creating your account.

Learn more about Sciwheel.

Zotero

Zotero is a free citation management tool that allows users to collect, manage and cite research resources. Users can also create collections/libraries for specific research projects, share data with collaborators, and generate bibliographies.

Learn more about Zotero.