Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Health Resources

APHA Legislative Alerts Feed

Loading ...


Here are sample ebooks from the Library's collection.  Find more titles in ALBERT, the Library's online catalog, and in the ebook list.  Request books the Library does not own via Interlibrary Loan.

What is the Affordable Care Act?

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act was passed by Congress and signed into law on March 23, 2010. The provisions of the ACA are being phased in over four years.  Open enrollment in the Health Insurance Exchange Marketplace begins on October 1, 2013.

The Affordable Care Act has 10 Titles:

  • Title I. Quality, Affordable Health Care for All Americans
  • Title II. The Role of Public Programs
  • Title III. Improving the Quality and Efficiency of Health Care
  • Title IV. Prevention of Chronic Disease and Improving Public Health
  • Title V. Health Care Workforce
  • Title VI. Transparency and Program Integrity
  • Title VII. Improving Access to Innovative Medical Therapies
  • Title VIII. Community Living Assistance Services and Supports Act (CLASS Act)
  • Title IX. Revenue Provisions
  • Title X. Reauthorization of the Indian Health Care Improvement Act