It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z Resource Guide: S-T
This list of databases and websites has been compiled by librarians at the D. Samuel Gottesman Library. Browse by title or search this guide for a specific resource.
Scansite searches for motifs within proteins that are likely to be phosphorylated by specific protein kinases or bind to domains. In the graphical output, the candidate motifs are superimposed on the predicted domain structure of the protein. Clicking on the domain information button provides access to a hot link to the domain families via Pfam. Clicking on the motif region provides the primary sequence at the motif and the percentile score. The program also provides information about the surface probability of the region of the protein around the motif of interest.
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
An index to chemical literature. Citations are from the CAplus database, containing over 42 million documents, and MEDLINE, with over 22 million biomedical citations. Access is also provided to CAS Registry, containing more than 104 million organic and inorganic substances and 66 million sequences.
Register for a SciFinder account at http://bit.ly/Einstein_SciFinder.
YOU MUST REGISTER WITH YOUR EINSTEIN EMAIL ADDRESS.
This is very important. Access to the web version is based on email domains.
SciFinder will send you confirmation by email. Click on the link in the message to activate your registration.
Provides information to develop new research collaborations and locate in-house biomedical expertise. Einstein Research Profiles gives investigators easy access to PubMed publications, information about NIH grants, and each investigator’s network of collaborators.
Cognition's Semantic NLP uses patented technology that interprets the meaning of documents and queries. It mediates text processing with concepts rather than word patterns. The system adds specific vocabularies from biomedicine in order to better understand the domain-specific languages.
SPIN (Sponsored Programs Information Network) is a database produced by Infoed International, Inc. and contains comprehensive profiles of thousands of national and international funding opportunities from government and private sources.
A comprehensive body of scientific, medical and technical research documentation accessible to scientists, researchers and other professionals. Includes 1.8 million archive records comprising approximately 800 journals formerly published by Kluwer, as well as all content from Volume I, Issue 1 from both the former Springer-Verlag and Kluwer publications.
The State and Local Government Internet directory provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments.
This web site provides the latest statistics and indicators on women and men in six specific fields of concern: Population, Women and men in families, health, education, work, political decision making
Student Doctor Network (SDN) is a nonprofit organization whose educational mission is to assist and encourage all students through healthcare education process and into practice.
SAMHSA’s mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America’s communities. The Agency was established in 1992 and directed by Congress to target effectively substance abuse and mental health services to the people most in need and to translate research in these areas more effectively and more rapidly into the general health care system.
The Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results (SEER) Program, a premier source for cancer statistics in the United States. Information is collected on incidence, prevalence and survival from specific geographic areas representing 26 percent of the US population and reports are compiled on all of these plus cancer mortality for the entire country.
The Big Picture Book of Viruses is intended to serve as both a catalog of virus pictures on the Internet and as an educational resource to those seeking more information about viruses. To this end, it is intimately linked to All the Virology on the WWW, and our collection of Virology Courses and Tutorials.
The National Academies bring together committees of experts in all areas of scientific and technological endeavor. These experts serve pro bono to address critical national issues and give advice to the federal government and the public. Includes publications, news and public information from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council.
June 1-November 30 is hurricane season. These AHRQ tools and resources can help community and emergency planners prepare strategies for emergency response and provide needed care during a hurricane or other natural disaster.
TRI, a resource of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, is a set of publicly available databases containing information on releases of specific toxic chemicals and their management as waste, as reported annually by U.S. industrial and federal facilities. This inventory was established under the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act of 1986 (EPCRA). TRI's data, beginning with the 1987 reporting year, covers air, water, land, and underground injection releases, as well as transfers to waste sites. In agreement with the Pollution Prevention Act of 1990, source reduction and recycling data is also included in TRI.
As part of a broader National Library of Medicine (NLM) reorganization, most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services listed here: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/toxnet/index.html.
TOXLINE (Toxicology Information Online) records provide bibliographic information covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. It contains over 3 million bibliographic citations, most with abstracts and/or indexing terms and CAS Registry Numbers.
TOXNET is a collection of toxicology and environmental health databases. It includes ChemIDplus, HSDB, TOXLINE, CCRIS, DART, GENETOX, IRIS, ITER, LactMed, TRI, Haz-Map, TOXMAP, CPDB.
