It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z Resource Guide: O-P
This list of databases and websites has been compiled by librarians at the D. Samuel Gottesman Library. Browse by title or search this guide for a specific resource.
The mission of ODS is to strengthen knowledge and understanding of dietary supplements by evaluating scientific information, stimulating and supporting research, disseminating research results, and educating the public to foster an enhanced quality of life and health for the U.S. population.
Part of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), the OMH promotes the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the elimination of health disparities.
The ORDR Web site aims to answer questions about rare diseases and the activities of the ORDR for patients, their families, healthcare providers, researchers, educators, students, and anyone with concern for and interest in rare diseases. The site provides information about ORDR-sponsored biomedical research, scientific conferences, and rare and genetic diseases. It also serves as a portal to information on major topics of interest to the rare diseases community.
OncoLink was founded in 1994 by Penn cancer specialists with a mission to help cancer patients, families, health care professionals and the general public get accurate cancer-related information at no charge. Through OncoLink you can get comprehensive information about specific types of cancer, updates on cancer treatments and news about research advances.
From physician Bernard Sklar, this site provides an annotated list of over 300 online sites offering about 13,000 activities and more than 22,000 hours of AMA Category I CME credit. Course descriptions include target audience, sponsors, cost, instruction type, and financial support available. Users can search by medical specialty or topic.
Oxford Scholarship Online is a vast and rapidly expanding cross-searchable library which now offers quick and easy access to the full text of over 3,772 Oxford books. The Einstein Library has access to Neuroscience, Public Health & Epidemiology, Psychology, and some Social Work collections comprising almost 250 titles.
The Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) represents the country’s leading pharmaceutical research and biotechnology companies, which are devoted to inventing medicines that allow patients to live longer, healthier, and more productive lives.
Information about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
Also includes information about dietary supplements and herbal remedies, including their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
The National Library of Medicine retired its "Pillbox" website in January 2021. This site contains much of the same information.
The Population and Vital Statistics Report: Series A presents most recent data on population size (total, male and female) from the latest available census of the population, national official population estimates and the number and rate (births, deaths and infant deaths) for the latest available year within the past 15 years. It also presents United Nations estimates of the mid-year population of the world, with its various areas and region
Incorporated in 1994 as an accredited educational provider to identify, develop, deliver and evaluate CME programs that fulfill educational gaps. The company has worked with and consulted for the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS), managed care organizations, the Veterans Administration (VA), the Department of Defense (DoD), health care member organizations (eg, Case Management Society of America), and academic institutions (most recently Duke University, University of South Florida, and University of Florida). Community commitment includes serving as an approved experiential rotation site for pharmacy students from the University of Florida. It is the author of all the CME courses and case studies on its site. Courses - which are online, live, or in print are identified by discipline and topic. CME programs are usually free, but some do require a fee.
OPMC investigates complaints about physicians, physician assistants and specialist assistants and monitors practitioners who have been placed on probation.
The Gutenberg-e books represent the most distinguished and innovative scholarship delivered with creative and thoughtful use of digital technology. These books have undergone a rigorous academic review process by distinguished historians brought together by the American Historical Association and produced in collaboration with the electronic publishing staff at Columbia University Press
Based at the University of Pittsburgh, the goal of Project Tycho is to aid scientists and public health officials in the eradication of deadly and devastating diseases. It provides open access to newly digitized and integrated data from the entire 125 years history of United States weekly nationally notifiable disease surveillance data since 1888. Project Tycho was developed at the University of Pittsburgh.
Currently, there are 2,457 journals covered in the PsycINFO database. The list changes continuously as journals are added and discontinued throughout the year, so it is updated online monthly. With the exception of journals indexed cover-to-cover, not all articles from each journal are included in the database. PsycINFO staff examine each article and select only those that have psychological relevance.
PsycTESTS® provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. It appears as a tab on the APA PsycNET Advanced Search page.
PsycTESTS focuses primarily on unpublished tests, those developed by researchers but not made commercially available -- Most records link to a variety of materials describing the test in peer-reviewed literature, technical reports, or dissertations as well as links to related peer-reviewed literature describing test development, review, or use -- All records include a summary that describes the test, with its purpose and some history of its development -- Most records include the actual test instrument.
Pubget allows users to browse journals, search for specific articles, and immediately provides the full text in PDF. The Einstein Library has activated its institutional subscriptions. The PaperPlane toolbar allows users to access PDFs directly from PubMed.
Check the "Use my library subscriptions" box and select "Albert Einstein College of Med" to link to full text.
PubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Special Collections tab represent publisher programs that have an arrangement with PMC to deposit just selected articles from a set of journals. These generally are the articles published under the journals' fee-based open access option. The journals included here do not automatically deposit every NIH-funded paper in PM. Clicking on the collection name will open search results for all articles that were deposited as part of the publisher-defined collection. some or all openaccess content means that all or some of the articles in the collection are available under a Creative Commons or similar distribution license. See PMC Open Access Subset for more information. Journals in Collection: shows the number of journals in PMC from a particular collection. Click on the number to see a list of all the titles.
PubsHub helps researchers and clinicians decide where to publish. Biomedical journal information includes: Impact Factors, Eigenfactors, time to acceptance, rejection rate submission criteria, editorial and submission information including phone numbers and email address, publication turnaround times, etc. Conference information includes: meeting frequency, dates and locations, sponsorship and whether abstracts are published.
