It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z Resource Guide: G-H
This list of databases and websites has been compiled by librarians at the D. Samuel Gottesman Library. Browse by title or search this guide for a specific resource.
General OneFile contains over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. The backfile extends nearly 30 years. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, politics and more.
GENE-TOX is created by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and contains genetic toxicology (mutagenicity) test data, resulting from expert peer review of the open scientific literature, on over 3,000 chemicals. The GENE-TOX program was established to select assay systems for evaluation, review data in the scientific literature, and recommend proper testing protocols and evaluation procedures for these systems..
The Mission of The Gerontological Society of America is: To promote the conduct of multi- and interdisciplinary research in aging by expanding the quantity of gerontological research and by increasing its funding resources To disseminate gerontological research knowledge to researchers, to practitioners, and to decision and opinion makers and To promote, support, and advocate for aging education, and education and training in higher education.
CABI Global Health is a bibliographic database of international research on public health. Information comes from serials, books, conference proceedings, patents, pamphlets and other sources.
The WHO Global Malaria Programme is responsible for malaria policy and strategy formulation, operations support and capacity development, and coordination of WHO's global efforts to fight malaria. The Department establishes and promotes based on evidence and expert consensus WHO policies, normative standards and guidelines for malaria prevention and control, including monitoring and evaluation.
GPO Access is a service of the United States Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of information products by the federal government. GPO Access provides free online use of many federal databases. These databases include regulatory materials such as The Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulationism Congressional products such as The Congressional Record and Congressional Bills and business materials such as Commerce Business Daily and other other useful tools and databases.
The medical school has a campus-wide license for teaching and academic research purposes. Submit a ticket to ITSupport, https://itsuport.einstein.yu.edu for help.
A combination of biostatistics, curve fitting (nonlinear regression) and scientific graphing in one comprehensive program. Easily organize, analyze and graph repeated experiments pick appropriate statistical tests and interpret the results.
Haz-Map is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work. Haz-Map links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms. It is one of the products and services made available by the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program.
HSDB focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It is enhanced with information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, and related areas. All data are referenced and derived from a core set of books, government documents, technical reports and selected primary journal literature. HSDB is peer-reviewed by the Scientific Review Panel (SRP), a committee of experts in the major subject areas within the data bank's scope. HSDB is organized into individual chemical records, and contains over 5000 such records.
HaPI provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation. By creating an organized resource of previously unavailable measurement information, HaPI: (a) provides a means of locating a variety of instruments, (b) helps to reduce inefficiency and cost, and (c) eliminates duplication and reinvention of the wheel.
Health Reference Center Academic includes over 2800 journals and magazines, many of which are full text. It contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.
The purpose of this publication is to call the attention of the general public and the governments of the Americas to an exploratory analysis of the relationship between premature mortality due to cerebrovascular diseases (CeVD) and potential socioeconomic inequality determinants at the ecological level.
The HTAi Vortal is a searchable repository of over 300 links and resources in the field of Health Technology Assessment. HTAi is the global scientific and professional society for all those who produce, use, or encounter HTA.
Specializing in heart sounds and cardiac arrhythmias, this website allows visitors to see and hear extensive digital recordings of actual patients, with high-resolution animations, ECGs and explanatory text. There are tutorials and online quizes. Blaufuss Medical Multimedia Laboratories develops clinical simulators for health care trainees and professionals using actual patient data and custom animations. CDs and slide sets available for purchase.
This collection of mp3 recordings is available for personal use to listen to online or download onto a personal player device. Use headphones for best audio quality. All materials copyright Texas Heart Institute.
Presents auscultation of various heart sounds as they relate to the anatomy, physiology, and diagnosis of cardiovascular disease. The podcasts are developed for physicians, medical residents, nurses, and other clinicians who wish to improve auscultation skills. Use headphones for best audio quality.
The HIV/AIDS Prevention & Service Provider Locator is a first-of-its-kind, location-based search tool that allows you to search for testing services, housing providers, health centers and other service providers near your current location.
Developed jointly by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and the Department of Health and Human Services, this tool allows one to find and compare hospitals.
Household Products Database links over 9,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.
This guide was designed to help users create an easy-to-use pill card for patients, parents, or anyone who has a hard time keeping track of their medicines. Step-by-step instructions, sample clip art, and suggestions for design and use will help to customize a reminder card.
