Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you have any questions about any of the resources in this guide, or any questions regarding your research, please contact the Reference Department at 718.430.3104 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Upcoming Library Events
Workshops are held via Zoom. Click on a title to sign up.
Contact the for more information, or to schedule an individual or small-group session. Reference Department
America's Children in Brief: Key National Indicators of Well-Being 2021 Detailed tables of child well-being indicators: health, socioeconomic, ethnic, health insurance.
NYC Community Health profiles
Information and statistics on the health of specific New Yor City neighborhoods, including an interactive data set.
EpiQuery Interactive web-based resource
based on health datasets with varying topics and indicators for different NYC populations.
including health insurance Health topics in individual , states
Diversity in Medical Education: Facts & Figures, a compendium of detailed statistical information on race, ethnicity, and gender patterns in U.S. medical education and practice patterns of the physician workforce.
Pew Hispanic Center
statistical profile from the Pew Hispanic Center Hispanics of Puerto Rican Origin in the United States, 2011,
Web access is available to anyone on the Internet using a web browser. Some of the print material are restricted to the Einstein community.
Recomended Web sites, Books and Serials
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Contains national and regional statistics, including hospital use, patient outcomes, and hospital charges.
American Cancer Society
Tracks cancer occurrence, including the number of deaths, cases, and how long people survive after diagnosis.
American Heart Association This link opens in a new window
The leading authority on heart and blood vessel diseases, providing statistical information on specific heart and blood vessel diseases.
ChildStats.gov This link opens in a new window
Offers access to medical & socioeconomic federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families.
Current Index to Statistics This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields.
FASTATS A-Z This link opens in a new window
Offers an alphabetical subject/geographical list for fast facts as wellas comprehensive statistics, from the National Center for Health Statistics.
FEDSTATS This link opens in a new window
An excellent site for locating statistics created by the more than 70 U.S. federal agencies, arranged in an A-Z listing.
InfoShare This link opens in a new window
Contains population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, and local economic data.
No longer being updated.
National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Principal U.S. vital & health statistics agency, provides a wide variety of data used to monitor the nation's health.
NCHS Health E-Stats This link opens in a new window
Provides numerical data and statistics on health resources and surveys from the National Center for Health Statistics.
New York City community health survey atlas 2010 This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics on health care costs, health services, hospitalization, morbidity/mortality and Medicaidd in 41 NYC communities.
New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene This link opens in a new window
My Community's Health: Data and Statistics.
New York State Department of Health Statistics and Data
New York State Department of Health Statistics and Data.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of data from private and government sources covering statistics on health, social & economic conditions in the United States.
Surveys and Data Collection Systems This link opens in a new window
Includes annual & periodic surveys conducted by the National Center for Health Statistics on annual & periodic U.S. vital statistics, immunization, nursing homes, hospices, ambulatory health care, health insurance, maternal and infant health, nutrition, and other health topics.
WHOSIS: WHO World Health Organization Statistical Information System
Provides statistical and epidemiological information from the World Health Organization & other sources. Includes demographic and health surveys, mortality data, disease information and more.
Where is the D. Samuel Gottesman Library?
The D. Samuel Gottesman Library is located at 1300 Morris Park Avenue (1st. floor of the Forchheimer Building) Bronx, N.Y. 10461.