Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resolutions

Monday: Customize Your PubMed Experience with MyNCBI

Do you login to NCBI to use MyNCBI, SciENcv, or MyBibliography? Do you submit data to NCBI? If so, you’ll want to read further to get a first glimpse at some important changes to NCBI accounts that will be coming this year.

  • After June 1, 2022, you will no longer be able to use NCBI-managed credentials to login to NCBI.
  • You may have the option to use your institutional login credentials (Einstein Active Directory).
  • Instructions on how to use your Einstein AD credentials to login are here.

Need help? Email askref@einsteinmed.edu

Streamline your access to full text. To do this, log into My NCBI by clicking on the username in the upper right hand corner of the PubMed homepage. From there, go to Account Settings.

In your Account Settings, click on the link for NCBI Site Preferences.

Under PubMed preferences click on Outside Tool and select Albert Einstein College of Medicine from the list of institutions.

Tuesday: Find Studies in PubMed with Clinical Queries

Clinical Study Categories use a specialized search method with built-in search filters that limit retrieval to citations reporting research conducted with specific methodologies, including those that report applied clinical research. See Clinical Study Categories filters for the filter search strategies.

To find citations using the Clinical Study Categories:

  1. Click Clinical Queries from the PubMed homepage

2. Enter your search terms in the search box

3. Click Search

4. Select a Category: Therapy, Diagnosis, Etiology, Prognosis, or Clinical Prediction Guides

5. Select a Scope: Narrow (specific search) or Broad (sensitive search)

6. Preview results in the Clinical Study Categories column

7. To view the results in PubMed, click the "See all" link below the results preview

 

Wednesday: Get the Most Out of Google Scholar

Here are some tips to make the most out of Google Scholar.

See our Google Scholar guide for more.

In Google Scholar, access your settings by clicking on the menu icon on the left hand side of your screen.

 

Set your library link to Albert Einstein College of Medicine to get easier access to full text.

EndNote and RefWorks users can set up their results to display links to import to their citation library. To do this, click on Search Results and go to Bibliography Manager.

Use advanced search options to focus your results.

Thursday: Explore PsycINFO

Looking for a psychological test or measure to use with a particular patient or population? Find it using PsycINFO's advanced search.

1) type your key terms into the search box.

2) select "Tests & Measures" from the dropdown menu in the "Any Field" box and click "Search"

3) You will get a list of results of articles and book chapters in which the authors have used tests and measures.

4) click on the title of any result and scroll down to the Tests & Measures section and you will see a list of research instruments that were used. When there is a doi link next to an individual test, clicking on it will send you directly to the detailed summary page in APA.

For more tips see our PsycINFO guide.

Friday: Manage Literature Reviews with Covidence

Covidence is a web-based tool that will help you through the process of screening your references, data extraction, and keeping track of your work. It is particularly useful for researchers developing a systematic review, meta-analysis, or clinical guideline.

The D. Samuel Gottesman Library is excited to offer an unlimited institutional license to Covidence to the Einstein/Montefiore community.

In Covidence, you can:

  • Import references - Covidence works seamlessly with your favorite citation managers like EndNote, Zotero, RefWorks, Mendeley or any tool that support RIS, CSV or PubMed XML formats. Covidence can automatically remove duplicates for you.
  • Screen title & abstract - Breeze through screening with keyword highlighting and a lightning quick interface. Covidence keeps full records of who voted and supports single or dual screening.
  • Bulk PDF import Transfer PDFs stored in your citation manager to Covidence in a few clicks. 
  • Screen full text - Decide quickly on studies in full text. Capture reasons for exclusion and any notes so you can resolve any disagreements quickly, with a click of a button.
  • Create forms - Be in control and stay focused on your PICO question. Customizable extraction forms mean you only spend time extracting what you need.
  • Customize risk of bias - Automatically populate your risk of bias tables by highlighting and commenting on text directly in your PDF.
  • Conduct data extraction - Extract data efficiently with a side-by-side view of your customized form and PDF. Then, when you are done, easily compare your form with other reviewers.  
  • Export - Covidence exports to all the common formats so you can continue your review in your preferred software. 
  • Collaborate - Invite other reviewers (including external colleagues) to work with you on the project.

You can create your personal sign-in information for Covidence before or after joining the institutional subscription.

To request access to the institutional account, you must use your current institutional email address (no Gmail, Hotmail, Yahoo, etc.).

Faculty and students at Einstein and the Ferkauf School of Psychology, as well as faculty and residents at Montefiore, should follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Albert Einstein College of Medicine Covidence Sign-up page.
  2. Enter your information (using your institutional email address) and click “Request Invitation.”
  3. Accept the invitation in your email – check your spam folder if the invitation does not arrive in a few minutes. Please also keep in mind that the link is one-time use and will expire in ~30 days.
  4. Log in to your existing Covidence account or sign up for a new account, which will automatically link you to Albert Einstein College of Medicine.
  5. If you have already joined the Albert Einstein College of Medicine’s Covidence account, then you can log in with your email and password and proceed to use Covidence. 

 Jacobi residents and faculty should contact the library to request access.

Bonus: There's a Database for That!

The Library provides access to a wealth of databases beyond PubMed. Here are a few you might not know about. Explore!