Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives: Home

What is it?

The Archives unit of the Library serves as the institutional memory of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. Its primary mission is to collect, preserve, and make available materials of enduring historical value that document the development of the College and its component departments.

The Collections

The Archives houses an array of resources including: Einstein publications (yearbooks, newsletters, and catalogs), Senate minutes and committee files, annual reports, correspondence, news clippings, faculty biographies, oral histories, ceremonial pieces, and memorabilia of Albert Einstein. A variety of formats are collected: documents, books, photographs, audiovisual materials, posters, architectural drawings, and scrapbooks. Entries describing most of this material can be found in ALBERT, the library's online public access catalog.

Access and Use

The Archives serves as a scholarly resource primarily for Einstein faculty, students, and staff. Outside researchers are welcome to visit by appointment. The Archivist is available to advise and assist patrons in the use of the collection. Materials do not circulate but may be photocopied.

The Archives are located in Room 117N, Forchheimer Building. The hours are 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. Please call or write to make an appointment: Archives, D. Samuel Gottesman Library, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, 1300 Morris Park Avenue, Bronx, NY 10461, 718.430.3086.