Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Google Scholar good for?
- Useful for locating hard-to-find literature.
- Includes patents, legal documents and court cases.
- Coverage is multi-disciplinary.
- Indexes full text of documents.
- Complements search results from other databases (such as PubMed and Web of Science).
- Useful for identifying articles where only incomplete citation information is known.
Upcoming Library Events
Workshops are held via Zoom. Click on a title to sign up.
Contact the Reference Department for more information, or to schedule an individual or small-group session.
What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar indexes journal articles, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from universities, societies, publishers, online repositories, and other web sites to find scholarly information.
What are Google Scholar's drawbacks?
- Content is not necessarily peer reviewed. Users must evaluate search results.
- Update schedule is based on the speed at which Google's robots crawl websites.
- Results are ranked by relevance, not chronologically. Be sure to look carefully at dates.
- Might not include pulications such as book reviews, news sections, editorials, announcements, and letters.
Google Scholar search results tend to be very large. There are several ways to refine a search and narrow results.
- Limit by date.
- Search "Articles excluding patents."
- Search journal titles by full title as well as abbreviation.
- Use "quotation marks" to match an exact phrase.
- Use site: to specify results from a particular website or domain.
- influenza statistics site:gov
- Use Advanced Scholar Search to
- Limit by Subject Area.
- Search by Title Words instead of Full Text
- Search an exact phrase.
Clicking on the arrow at the right of the search box will take you to Google Scholar's Advanced Search.
Read Google's Advanced Scholar Search Tips.
Additional tips and information are available from the Google Scholar Blog, which is updated sporadically.
Google Scholar via EZproxy
Use this Google Scholar link when searching from off campus or when exporting to RefWorks.