Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print books may be borrowed via Grab-N-Go Circulation
eBook availability depends on licensing restrictions
Practical Statistics for Medical Research by Most medical researchers, whether clinical or non-clinical, receive some background in statistics as undergraduates. However, it is most often brief, a long time ago, and largely forgotten by the time it is needed. Furthermore, many introductory texts fall short of adequately explaining the underlying concepts of statistics, and often are divorced from the reality of conducting and assessing medical research. Practical Statistics for Medical Research is a problem-based text for medical researchers, medical students, and others in the medical arena who need to use statistics but have no specialized mathematics background. Explores topics of particular importance in clinical practice, including diagnostic tests, method comparison, and observer agreement Utilizes real data throughout and includes dozens of interesting data sets Discusses the use and misuse of statistics, enabling readers to judge the appropriateness of methods and interpretations published in medical journals Describes the main statistical methods for comparing data collected from different groups of individuals or for relating different observations from the same people Provides many problems, all with detailed solutions The author draws on twenty years of experience as a consulting medical statistician to provide clear explanations to key statistical concepts, with a firm emphasis on practical aspects of designing and analyzing medical research. The text gives special attention to the presentation and interpretation of results and the many real problems that arise in medical research.
Call Number: Einstein Reserve WA 950 A468p 1991
Publication Date: 1990-11-22
Gordis Epidemiology by From the Department of Epidemiology at Johns Hopkins University and continuing in the tradition of award-winning educator and epidemiologist Dr. Leon Gordis, comes the fully revised 6th Edition of Gordis Epidemiology. This bestselling text provides a solid introduction to basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice, highlighted by real-world examples throughout. New coverage includes expanded information on genetic epidemiology, epidemiology and public policy, and ethical and professional issues in epidemiology, providing a strong basis for understanding the role and importance of epidemiology in today's data-driven society. Covers the basic principles and concepts of epidemiology in a clear, uniquely memorable way, using a wealth of full-color figures, graphs, charts, and cartoons to help you understand and retain key information. Reflects how epidemiology is practiced today, with a new chapter organization progressing from observation and developing hypotheses to data collection and analyses. Features new end-of-chapter questions for quick self-assessment, and a glossary of genetic terminology. Provides more than 200 additional multiple-choice epidemiology self-assessment questions online. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: Einstein Reserve WA 105 G661e 2019
Publication Date: 2018
Designing Clinical Research by Designing Clinical Research has been extensively revised and continues to set the standard as a practical guide for doctors, nurses, pharmacists, and other health professionals involved in all forms of clinical, translational, and public health research. It presents advanced epidemiologic concepts in a reader-friendly way, and suggests common sense approaches to the challenging judgments involved in designing, funding, and implementing. New to this edition: Expanded and updated content in every chapter, with new material on: * non-inferiority trials for comparative effectiveness research * incidence-density case-control studies * confounding and effect modification * diagnostic test studies to inform prediction rules * ethical aspects of whole genome sequencing * automated data management approaches * new NIH grant-writing requirements Color format, and Electronic access, powered by Inkling(tm) as a free companion to the text * viewable through your browser or as a download to tablet or smartphone * the complete text with optimized navigation * note-sharing, highlighting and bookmarking capability * cross-linking of references and content * rapid search options linked to the new glossary
Call Number: Einstein Reserve WA 950 D457 2013
Publication Date: 2013
A Gentle Introduction to Stata by Alan C. Acock's A Gentle Introduction to Stata, Sixth Editionis aimed at new Stata users who want to become proficient in Stata. After reading this introductory text, new users will be able not only to use Stata well but also to learn new aspects of Stata. Acock assumes that the user is not familiar with any statistical software. This assumption of a blank slate is central to the structure and contents of the book. Acock starts with the basics; for example, the part of the book that deals with data management begins with a careful and detailed example of turning survey data on paper into a Stata-ready dataset on the computer. When explaining how to go about basic exploratory statistical procedures, Acock includes notes that will help the reader develop good work habits. This mixture of explaining good Stata habits and good statistical habits continues throughout the book. Acock is quite careful to teach the reader all aspects of using Stata. He covers data management, good work habits (including the use of basic do-files), basic exploratory statistics (including graphical displays), and analyses using the standard array of basic statistical tools (correlation, linear and logistic regression, and parametric and nonparametric tests of location and dispersion). He also successfully introduces some more advanced topics such as multiple imputation and multilevel modeling in a very approachable manner. Acock teaches Stata commands by using the menus and dialog boxes while still stressing the value of do-files. In this way, he ensures that all types of users can build good work habits. Each chapter has exercises that the motivated reader can use to reinforce the material. The tone of the book is friendly and conversational without ever being glib or condescending. Important asides and notes about terminology are set off in boxes, which makes the text easy to read without any convoluted twists or forward referencing. Rather than splitting topics by their Stata implementation, Acock arranges the topics as they would appear in a basic statistics textbook; graphics and postestimation are woven into the material in a natural fashion. Real datasets, such as the General Social Surveys from 2002, 2006, and 2016, are used throughout the book. The focus of the book is especially helpful for those in the behavioral and social sciences because the presentation of basic statistical modeling is supplemented with discussions of effect sizes and standardized coefficients. Various selection criteria, such as semipartial correlations, are discussed for model selection. Acock also covers a variety of commands available for evaluating reliability and validity of measurements. The sixth edition incorporates new features of Stata 15. All menus, dialog boxes, and instructions for using the point-and-click interface have been updated. Power-and-sample-size calculations for linear regression are demonstrated using Stata 15's new power rsquared command. This edition also includes new sections that describe how to evaluate convergent and discriminant validity, how to compute effect sizes for t tests and ANOVA models, how to use margins and marginsplot to interpret results of linear and logistic regression models, and how to use full-information maximum-likelihood (FIML) estimation with SEM to address problems with missing data.
Call Number: Einstein Reserve WA 950 A185g 2014
Publication Date: 2018
Applied Logistic Regression by A new edition of the definitive guide to logistic regression modeling for health science and other applications This thoroughly expanded Third Edition provides an easily accessible introduction to the logistic regression (LR) model and highlights the power of this model by examining the relationship between a dichotomous outcome and a set of covariables. Applied Logistic Regression, Third Edition emphasizes applications in the health sciences and handpicks topics that best suit the use of modern statistical software. The book provides readers with state-of-the-art techniques for building, interpreting, and assessing the performance of LR models. New and updated features include: A chapter on the analysis of correlated outcome data A wealth of additional material for topics ranging from Bayesian methods to assessing model fit Rich data sets from real-world studies that demonstrate each method under discussion Detailed examples and interpretation of the presented results as well as exercises throughout Applied Logistic Regression, Third Edition is a must-have guide for professionals and researchers who need to model nominal or ordinal scaled outcome variables in public health, medicine, and the social sciences as well as a wide range of other fields and disciplines.
Call Number: QA 278.2 H827a 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Applied Longitudinal Analysis by Praise for the First Edition ". . . [this book] should be on the shelf of everyone interestedin . . . longitudinal data analysis." ?Journal of the American Statistical Association Features newly developed topics and applications of theanalysis of longitudinal data Applied Longitudinal Analysis, Second Edition presentsmodern methods for analyzing data from longitudinal studies and nowfeatures the latest state-of-the-art techniques. The bookemphasizes practical, rather than theoretical, aspects of methodsfor the analysis of diverse types of longitudinal data that can beapplied across various fields of study, from the health and medicalsciences to the social and behavioral sciences. The authors incorporate their extensive academic and researchexperience along with various updates that have been made inresponse to reader feedback. The Second Edition features six newlyadded chapters that explore topics currently evolving in the field,including: Fixed effects and mixed effects models Marginal models and generalized estimating equations Approximate methods for generalized linear mixed effectsmodels Multiple imputation and inverse probability weightedmethods Smoothing methods for longitudinal data Sample size and power Each chapter presents methods in the setting of applications todata sets drawn from the health sciences. New problem sets havebeen added to many chapters, and a related website features sampleprograms and computer output using SAS, Stata, and R, as well asdata sets and supplemental slides to facilitate a completeunderstanding of the material. With its strong emphasis on multidisciplinary applications andthe interpretation of results, Applied LongitudinalAnalysis, Second Edition is an excellent book for courses onstatistics in the health and medical sciences at theupper-undergraduate and graduate levels. The book also serves as avaluable reference for researchers and professionals in themedical, public health, and pharmaceutical fields as well as thosein social and behavioral sciences who would like to learn moreabout analyzing longitudinal data.
Call Number: Einstein Reserve QA 278 F557a 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-30
Basic Statistics and Pharmaceutical Statistical Applications by Building on its best-selling predecessors, Basic Statistics and Pharmaceutical Statistical Applications, Third Edition covers statistical topics most relevant to those in the pharmaceutical industry and pharmacy practice. It focuses on the fundamentals required to understand descriptive and inferential statistics for problem solving. Incorporating new material in virtually every chapter, this third edition now provides information on software applications to assist with evaluating data. New to the Third Edition Use of Excel® and Minitab® for performing statistical analysis Discussions of nonprobability sampling procedures, determining if data is normally distributed, evaluation of covariances, and testing for precision equivalence Expanded sections on regression analysis, chi square tests, tests for trends with ordinal data, and tests related to survival statistics Additional nonparametric procedures, including the one-sided sign test, Wilcoxon signed-ranks test, and Mood's median test With the help of flow charts and tables, the author dispels some of the anxiety associated with using basic statistical tests in the pharmacy profession and helps readers correctly interpret their results using statistical software. Through the text's worked-out examples, readers better understand how the mathematics works, the logic behind many of the equations, and the tests' outcomes.
Call Number: Einstein Reserve QV 16 D389b 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Books are on Reserve or available online through the Library.
Design of observational studies by Available online
Print copy on Reserve
Call Number: Einstein Reserve & Book Collection QA 279 R67d 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Thompson and Thompson Genetics in Medicine by Updated to reflect the newest changes in genetics, Thompson & Thompson's Genetics in Medicine returns as one of the most favored texts in this fascinating and rapidly evolving field. By integrating the classic principles of human genetics with modern molecular genetics, this medical reference book utilizes a variety of learning tools to help you understand a wide range of genetic disorders. Acquire the state-of-the-art knowledge you need on the latest advances in molecular diagnostics, the Human Genome Project, pharmacogenetics, and bio-informatics. Better understand the relationship between basic genetics and clinical medicine with a variety of clinical case studies. Recognize a wide range of genetic disorders with visual guidance from more than 240 dynamic illustrations and high-quality photos. Immerse yourself in updated graphics, full-color text, illustrations, line diagrams, and clinical photos of genetic diseases. Explore the latest genetic content available in order to remain up to date on the most current trends in the field. Take advantage of a double-page clinical case study section that demonstrates and reinforces general principles of disease inheritance, pathogenesis, diagnosis, management, and counseling. Enhance your critical thinking skills and better retain information. Each chapter ends with up to 5 quick genetic "problems" related to what has just been reviewed, with answers provided in the back of the book. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. You'll also access USMLE-style and multiple choice questions.
Call Number: Einstein Reserve QZ 50 N975t 2016
Publication Date: 2015
Epidemiology: Beyond the basics by Written for those who are familiar with the basic strategies of analytic epidemiology, Epidemiology: Beyond the Basics takes readers through a more rigorous discussion of key epidemiologic concepts and methods such as study design, measures of association, research assessment, and more. With real-life examples throughout, the book avoids complex statistical formulations and is an invaluable resource for intermediate students and practicing epidemiologists who wish to expand their knowledge of epidemiology and its role in the medical and public health sciences. The Third Edition offers a completely revamped page design that will make it easier for your students to navigate through the many charts, graphs, and mathematical formulas. It also offers expanded chapter exercises, new and updated references throughout, as well as coverage of some new topics including: * Over-diagnosis Bias (Ch. 4); * "Joint Presence of Two Factors that Interact as a Confounding Variable" (Ch. 6); * "Alternative Approaches for the Control of Confounding" (Ch. 7); * "Final Considerations" (Ch.8);* Decision trees (Ch. 10)This edition also offers an updated package of instructor materials including instructor's manual, PowerPoint lecture slides, and a test bank.
Call Number: Einstein Reserve WA 950 S998e 2014
Publication Date: 2012